We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$293
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$308
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$212
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$282
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$354
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
US$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
32
62
62
46
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
62
62
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanwafflesfirst floorpool and hot tubfront desk stafflabor day weekendfree breakfasttraverse city arearegistrationfrigdowntownmichigan
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This is a 2 story older hotel. That is Not a negative. The first floor rooms open to the parking lot which is great for unloading and reloading luggage. We parked right by our door. The rooms are clean and roomy but not large. It had all the usual amenities.frig, microwave, coffeemaker, TV etc.plus a pool, and brkfst. The staff were friendly and very hospitable..even calling the room a short time after checking in just to ask if everything was ok. That was a first. It's located right at the bay and close to many restaurants and the Grand Travis peninsula. A pleasant experience!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Patteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you found the rooms on the ground floor with exterior entrance very convenient. We are proud to know you enjoyed your clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff.

We are anticipating your next opportunity to visit beautiful Traverse City and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

No microwave in our room, but all the other normal amenities. Freshly painted in some common areas. Rooms facing the bay will have the best views, but may cost more. Pool, exercise room, and business facilities. Value good for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edq88222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry your room did not have a microwave. We hope you had a chance to mention this matter to our staff so that we would have been able to deliver a microwave to your room. We are happy to know you found our location convenient to you liking.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is an older establishment, with a slightly musty smell. If your kids or you have mold allergies, look elsewhere! It was clean and the bed linens were high quality. The location across from the water was nice and easy access via car to downtown restaurants. Many doors open to the outside-but directly to the parking lot-made it feel a bit sketch. We stayed in 2nd floor inside building...I would stay again if it was the cheapest option due to my budget restraints.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lorinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and offering your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology of the musty / moldy you encountered during your stay. I hope you had a chance to bring this matter to our staff's attention right away. We would have made every effort to remedy the issue or offer a more suitable room.

Our housekeeping team strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms and I apologize for being sub-par during your stay. We are happy to know you found your room clean. Most of our guest likes the feature of our ground floor rooms having interior and exterior entrances to the rooms. We also try to be very competitive with our rates during high peak season in a tourist destination.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We rented a room for one night on 8/13/16. As soon as we opened the door we could smell a mildew or urine smell--weren't sure which--until we went in the (tiny, tiny) bathroom and found that the shower curtain reeked of mildew.

Then, when I was washing my face, the sink backed up and wouldn't drain immediately. Once it went down there was black crud all over the sink from whatever mucus, hair, spit, etc. was stuck in the pipe.

Went to three different ice machines before we could find one that worked.

Other than that--it was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweatpea3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and shring your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for the mildew smell you experienced that have seemed to be coming from the shower curtain. Our housekeeping team strive to make sure everything is checked with a fine tooth comb and I'm sorry we missed the shower curtain.

I hope you had a chance to let our staff know of the sink not draining properly. Also, our ice machines were being serviced and a couple of them needed parts to be ordered.

We are truly sorry for the below average experience you had and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very little out.

All in all, I'd say if you're on a serious budget, this isn't a bad place but I'd recommend staying someplace else if you want a higher quality experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by affordable value even during summer time when rates are sky high in a tourist town.

We hop you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and hope it will be a better experience.

Sincerelr,
Ray M.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews