We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This is a 2 story older hotel. That is Not a negative. The first floor rooms open to the parking lot which is great for unloading and reloading luggage. We parked right by our door. The rooms are clean and roomy but not large. It had all the usual amenities.frig, microwave, coffeemaker, TV etc.plus a pool, and brkfst. The staff were friendly and very hospitable..even calling the room a short time after checking in just to ask if everything was ok. That was a first. It's located right at the bay and close to many restaurants and the Grand Travis peninsula. A pleasant experience!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Patteq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay. We are happy you found the rooms on the ground floor with exterior entrance very convenient. We are proud to know you enjoyed your clean and comfortable rooms as well as our friendly staff.

We are anticipating your next opportunity to visit beautiful Traverse City and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016

No microwave in our room, but all the other normal amenities. Freshly painted in some common areas. Rooms facing the bay will have the best views, but may cost more. Pool, exercise room, and business facilities. Value good for the area.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edq88222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are sorry your room did not have a microwave. We hope you had a chance to mention this matter to our staff so that we would have been able to deliver a microwave to your room. We are happy to know you found our location convenient to you liking.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is an older establishment, with a slightly musty smell. If your kids or you have mold allergies, look elsewhere! It was clean and the bed linens were high quality. The location across from the water was nice and easy access via car to downtown restaurants. Many doors open to the outside-but directly to the parking lot-made it feel a bit sketch. We stayed in 2nd floor inside building...I would stay again if it was the cheapest option due to my budget restraints.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lorinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and offering your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology of the musty / moldy you encountered during your stay. I hope you had a chance to bring this matter to our staff's attention right away. We would have made every effort to remedy the issue or offer a more suitable room.

Our housekeeping team strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms and I apologize for being sub-par during your stay. We are happy to know you found your room clean. Most of our guest likes the feature of our ground floor rooms having interior and exterior entrances to the rooms. We also try to be very competitive with our rates during high peak season in a tourist destination.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We rented a room for one night on 8/13/16. As soon as we opened the door we could smell a mildew or urine smell--weren't sure which--until we went in the (tiny, tiny) bathroom and found that the shower curtain reeked of mildew.

Then, when I was washing my face, the sink backed up and wouldn't drain immediately. Once it went down there was black crud all over the sink from whatever mucus, hair, spit, etc. was stuck in the pipe.

Went to three different ice machines before we could find one that worked.

Other than that--it was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sweatpea3814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and shring your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. I am sorry for the mildew smell you experienced that have seemed to be coming from the shower curtain. Our housekeeping team strive to make sure everything is checked with a fine tooth comb and I'm sorry we missed the shower curtain.

I hope you had a chance to let our staff know of the sink not draining properly. Also, our ice machines were being serviced and a couple of them needed parts to be ordered.

We are truly sorry for the below average experience you had and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ray M.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately that's about the extent of what I can say positively about my family's stay here. The room wasn't cleaned very well and our sheets had quite a few stains on them. The food for breakfast was low quality and there wasn't much of it- it's first come first serve and they put very little out.

All in all, I'd say if you're on a serious budget, this isn't a bad place but I'd recommend staying someplace else if you want a higher quality experience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding yur recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for falling short of your expectations. We are proud to know you were satisfied with our staff's service but we are sorry for falling short in our housekeeping department. We strive to offer a clean and comfortable hotel backed by affordable value even during summer time when rates are sky high in a tourist town.

We hop you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and hope it will be a better experience.

Sincerelr,
Ray M.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
398 reviews
0.2 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
871 reviews
0.3 km away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: €44 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing