We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Quiet in Traverse City”

Grand Traverse Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Traverse Motel
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The owners are making a serious effort to bring back what was once a charming motel. We noticed the new bathroom fixtures and that rooms are very clean and quiet. It's set back from a busy thoroughfare, which is nice. We appreciated the coffee maker and small fridge.

My biggest complaint: the beds are not all that comfortable.

Loved the owners! Very helpful and accommodating.

Pricey for what we got, but that's tourist season in a tourist town for you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregsix, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I booked the wrong day. They made a free last minute change to our room and gave me a better deal than I originally had. I can only make one suggestion. Our room was way too close to the managers room. Again super friendly. In fact so friendly I felt bad asking to be moved so we just laughed it off. We spent most of our time around and about so it was not a huge deal for us. Clean room and great location. Yes, it is old. Still clean and perfect for a couple night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregsix, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for staying. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Came into Traverse City late and stopped at a couple of other places and felt like I was an inconvenience. Stopped here and was treated like a guest (imagine that). They had a little treat bag that they gave to my son and he loved it. It had a few things in it but the memory card game was the best; we played this the whole rest of the trip! Our room was clean and big. The bed passed my 9 year old's bed test. Over all a great nights rest. Plus unlike some of the others there weren't a bunch of rowdy people hanging around outside.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregsix, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Glad to hear you had a great day. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My husband & I decided last minute to go to TC Were looking for something affordable and close to downtown. Room was clean, quiet, and less than 5 min to downtown. Staff were super friendly, excellent service was pleasantly surprised . Great choice if your looking for a small mom & pop place

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregsix, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you. Great to hear. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

My friend and I were looking for something convenient to downtown TC at a lower prices as we wouldn't be in the room much. It was great! We got there early and were able to check in. The owner could not have been any nicer and more accommodating. He shared his story about how he and his wife had purchased the motel in June and how they were working to turn it around. They are in the process of updating. Our room was clean and more than we could have asked for. It was great to have a decent size frig, too. I would stay here again and have already recommended it to some of my friends!

Room Tip: We had a corner room, but not sure it matters. It was the perfect location and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregsix, Owner at Grand Traverse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for staying. Come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
5.7 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
1.3 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
218 reviews
1.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Traverse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Traverse Motel

Address: 1010 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2708
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: €93 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Traverse Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family operated motel with 18 units. We provide in-room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves & air conditioning. We do not accept pets. The Motel is located just eight blocks from downtown shopping and dining and only one block from the beach. The Grand Traverse Motel is nonsmoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Traverse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Traverse Hotel Traverse City
Grand Traverse City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing