We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,859)
Filter reviews
3,859 results
Traveller rating
2,607
899
255
64
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,607
899
255
64
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flavored water leelanau suite bathroom mirror indoor and outdoor pools cookies view of the bay shuttle service beach area great place to stay enjoyed our stay waffles hot tub excellent stay breakfast room front desk staff fire pit the east bay
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 3,859 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Hotel needs renovation. Very dirty inside, also beach was very dirty as well. We have been going to TC for last 25 years, staying at Sugar Beach, Grand Beach Grand Traverse and others. Unfortunately this was probably the worst of the hotels. I'm just trying to be honest so you can improve. Screen door in our room would not shut, room itself was clean but needs updating. Breakfast was just ok however eating area very overcrowded.Calling this room a suite is quite a stretch. Could have stayed at a condo in Grand Traverse for much less. Sorry, just giving my honest opinion.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank timvanzuidam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Good morning, Mr. Van Zuidam!

Thank you for your stay and your time in reviewing us. I'm really sorry you had such a poor experience.

While we are planning on renovations of the rest of our rooms this late fall/early winter, we do have 25 rooms to select from and we do have many that have already been redone with all new carpeting, wall covering, quartz countertops, TV mirrors in the bathrooms, and new tile and glass accents. The majority of our rooms are not remodeled yet, but we still take good care of them. The screen door of your room will certainly be addressed.

In regards to our cleanliness, I'm sorry you felt our hotel was "very dirty inside" yet your "room itself was clean." We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and show that we score high in our cleanliness, but I will work with my housekeeping team on additional details that we may be missing.

The room you did have was not listed as a suite. It was known as an Elk Rapids Studio, which means the living and sleeping space is all in one room. This is one of our standard rooms that overlooks the bay. We do offer larger suites and studios different from this style.

I'm sorry that you felt we were the worst of the hotels you've stayed at. I appreciate your honest opinion and would never ask for anything less. While we offer a tremendous amount of amenities over other hotels in the area (like two pools, two hot tubs, dry sauna, 400 feet of great beach area with cabanas, fire pits, lounge chairs, and a play set shaped like a pirate ship, free shuttle service to downtown, high-end bath amenities, luxury hotel Internet speeds for free, free large breakfast, sweet shoppe, 24-hour coffee, in-room Seattle's Best coffee, and more), we will certainly continue to work harder for you and all of our guests.

If you'd like to discuss your stay further, I would be happy to do so. My email is jpack@cherrytreeinn.com and my direct phone line is 231-778-9001. Thank you again for staying with us and have a great end of summer!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

First time at this property and will probably return. Really liked beach area. Towels always full and chairs / area always clean / neat. Shuttle accessibility was great. Everyone friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank agadore46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Good morning!

Thank you so much for your stay and review! Glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and it sounds like you took full advantage of our amenities - awesome!

I hope you have a great end of summer and we'll be happy to welcome you back. Thank you!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We love the location. The view is gorgeous and has a relaxed feeling. It is very close to wine country. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. We also used the shuttle to go downtown for dinner. We love this place! It’s our favorite in Traverse City!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barbieblue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Thank you for your stay and time in writing a review. We're always happy to read about guests who not only enjoyed our hotel, amenities, and service, but those who enjoyed the area. We live in a gorgeous region and we love to share it. Hope you found some great bottles of wine and had a safe trip home. Thank you!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

The rooms are spacious and clean, bathroom is luxurious ! The hotel staff is very courteous. The hotel does have a beach in the backside so you could sit and tan for hours. We paid for a room with buffet breakfast . Breakfast turned out to very ordinary with less variety. I think its better to have food from any of the restaurants across the street!

Stayed: May 2018
Thank 290pragatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Good day!

Thank you for your stay and review! It's great that you enjoyed your room, the luxurious bathroom, our courteous staff, and our beach! I appreciate your review of our complimentary breakfast, too. We'll continue working on ways to improve it and make it better for our guests. But, you are right, there are many great restaurants in the area to have a great meal, too!

Have a great rest of August. Thank you!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Overall the hotel is acceptable and comfortable. The rooms and elevator need to be renovated. The elevator floor was very dirty and anyone in the elevator could smell the musty odor. Our bathroom walls had crumbled drywall and the floor tiles could you a good bleaching. I loved the view of Traverse Bay!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CinciDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for your stay and review! The good news is that we are in the final steps to having our renovation plans set for this winter. The elevator carpet did really get beat up this summer and quickly. We are scheduling it to be replaced this week or next.

I'm glad you enjoyed everything else. Check us out when renovations are complete - we do have some rooms already done!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews