We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you have kids younger than 12”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Go if you have kids younger than 12”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We went with older kids. Don't. They enjoyed the waterpark. But after a couple hours we were all done. The saving grace was the MagiQuest seek and find game that had them running all over the hotel. At the end of our first day I was done with hundreds of little kids running around screaming and the noise inside is also very loud from the water itself. For what we paid, it was not worth it. I am not interested in going to another one. I was disappointed to find that the spa was so expensive too as I was hoping to escape there our second day. They had a cute more affordable package for only mothers and daughters. So that was disappointing. I was pleased with their store and the ice cream shop was great!

Room Tip: We purchased a big suite with a fireplace and bunkbeds. There was plenty of room for them to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveKYlivn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    561
    281
    127
    80
See reviews for
1,644
22
1
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here on a thursday because the kids were off of school. There is alot of small kids here but it was still fun for my 9 and 11 year old. They played Magic Quest ($32.00) per person because they charge you for a wand($20.00) and the game itself is ($11.99) but the kids LOVED it. and we could let them run around and be independant. (we made them stick together) The rooms all had refridgerators and microwaves so we could make our own lunches and breakfasts. We had pizza in their restaurant and it was good and cheap. ($13.00) for a large two topping. We splurged on ice cream cones too. : ) The water park has different areas for different age groups. I road the yellow slide and screamed the whole way down but I'm a big chicken. I was in the lazy river the rest of the time. The kids road everything (3 fast slides) and two slower ones. They loved the huge bucket of water that dumped every 7 minutes...my hubby love that too. overall safe, clean, and spacious. We all had a great time, ohhhh, don't forget to bring money for the arcade ( alot like chuckie cheese) you can win tickets that you turn in for prizes. My daughter won the big wolf! she loves that thing!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerzieskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We visited this hotel after a seven year hiatus. Our room was ready early this time - no 2 hour wait. We had a lot of fun in the park itself, but the room is what kept me from giving it a four or five star rating. They have not updated the rooms at all, at least in the one we stayed. The TV's were the old style and the beds were horrible. The beds were used up, you sunk in the center and had to fight to get out of them. We had 3 beds (loft suite) and all three were in horrible shape that was not conducive for a good night's sleep. As far as the food was concerned, it was so-so. We decided to prepay for the breakfast buffet for 2 days ($6 saving per person) and the food was OK. We had the pizza for dinner one night and that was good.
Overall, we went for the waterpark, which was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmnestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Took my family for a winter blues break to Great Wolf Lodge in Feb 2012. First off, my family includes 3 kids (14 year old, 2 year old and one year old). Second, we got a deal through Groupon, which was really the only way we could afford it.

It didn't start off great when we arrived to find out our hotel room wasn't ready. We arrived at 3:00 PM and check in is 4:00. Okay, fine. They said they would call us when the room is ready. Well, it wasn't until almost 5 when we got that call. This wouldn't have been too big of an issue with me, but the fact that we drove in the car for 4 hours with 3 kids that really wanted to get out, didn't make the family happy.

We got the Majastic Bear Suite and it was perfect for our family. 2 queen beds, sofa bed and a seperate room with a king bed. The room includes a mini-fridge (although bigger than your nomal mini-fridge), microwave, and a nice breakfast nook for people to eat on. I was told that this room can go for up to $600.00 a night a peak times, however, though Groupon, we got it for $169.99. Like I said, we could afford that deal. With your rooms, the cost for the waterpark is included.

The Water Park was very nice and big. They claim the air temperature set at 84 degrees, however, that was not the case here. The air temp felt more like in the low to mid 70's. Reason I brought this up was because the two little kids, once they got out of the water for the first time, were shivering the rest of the times. Of course, once they held on to Mom and Dad, they refused to let go because our body temp was keeping them warm. So, spent very little time at the waterpark with the little ones. This was my first time going to an indoor waterpark in the winter and maybe the cold outside temperature played a role, but was disappointed that the kids were cold. The 14 year old had a great time going down the big slide, but one of the big slides was down, so that was a bummer too.

The had an arcade and both the older kid and parents liked it. Plenty of games to win tickets.

The food was the best part. The breakfast buffet was plenty and good (plus kids 2 and under are free when an adult orders). I believe it was $11.99 for adults. For lunch/dinner, we got the pizza combo deal. It's about $30.00, but you get a large pizza, breaksticks, salad and a 2 liter of pop. It's not too badly priced and it fed our whole family. However, the best thing about the food is that they have a menu for people who have a gluten alergy. My daughter is on a gluten free diet and they have several items that are gluten free: pizza crust, chicken tenders and fries to name some. You can talk to the person in charged of the kitchen (in our case, it was Valerie) and they will work with you to make sure you get the food you want, in some case, they will even make a special order just for you. They will also cook the food to avoid cross contamination (for example: chicken tenders and fries were baked, not deep fried). Also, you can order the foods to go and take it to your rooms (which is helpful if the little ones don't want to behave). They can deliver the food, but it comes with an 18% gratudity fee.

You don't have to eat at Great Wolf Lodge if it feels too pricy. They are near plenty of resturants and fast foods for cheaper value.

Overall, I tell everyone that while it didn't go as I hoped it would, it was very nice to get away regardless. I would probably not go again in the winter, unless the kids were older and if I can get another good deal like I did.

Room Tip: The water park and arcade entrance is located on the first floor. So, if you get a room on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deafviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Took my mom and 2 year old for a quick getaway. Room was mediocre for the 169.99/nt price tag. ( wolf den suite ) Food was outrageous. 23.00 for overcooked ny strip that wasnt edible. Enjoyed fire alarms going off in our room at 6 am which not only woke everyone up but scared the day lights out of my 2 year old. When asked what was going on was given the answer, " false alarm. " Really?! Oh and my son and I brought home a lovely parting gift. The stomach flu. Both my son and I had it. My mom did not, but she also didn't swim. Will not be back. Thanks Great Wolf!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkubikmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWL_Management, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
I am sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your stay.

In regards to price, our pricing is influenced by local competition, availability, demand and the size and cost of living in the metro areas closest to that resort. I apologize that you did not find your trip to be of great value.

As for your other issues, these have been noted and will be shared with my team.

Sincerely,
Chris Ballou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
5.6 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
5.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
9.5 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.7 km away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.4 km away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Property: Great Wolf Lodge
Address: 3575 N US Highway 31 S, Traverse City, MI 49684-4500
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Lodge
The Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel
Great Wolf Lodge Rates
Great Wolf Lodge Traverse City Mi
Great Lodge Resort Wolf
Great Wolf Traverse City
Graet Lodge Wolf
Gerat Lodge Wolf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing