We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Recently redecorated. Room and bath very clean as was the whole place. WIFI worked well.

The hot tub was HOT, which is just the way we like it. Some places don't keep them at the proper temperature.

Staff was great.

Room Tip: We always elect to stay on the second floor away from the elevators....regardless where we stay.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    56
    28
    16
    24
See reviews for
50
41
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We needed a place to spend one night before proceeding to Ludington and this hotel was cheap and fit the bill. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the indoor pool was small, but clean. The rooms were clean, cheap, but the beds and pillows left a little to be desired. I was very thankful we brought our pillows from home, all and all for the price it could not be beat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trftweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We booked the Motel 6 in traverse city, mi for three nights (only stayed for two of them) based on the price. The reviews on here seemed to vary a bit so I wasn't expecting our stay to be perfect.

The best part of the hotel is its location, right on the main drag in the city. Walking distance to some restaurants or a short drive to many others.

The rooms themselves were very disappointing. Our room was musty and smelled like mold. The florescent lighting and bare white walls gave it a bit of a prison feel. The TV mount was broke, so the big tube tv took up half of the desk area. No alarm clock, or clock of any kind.

The mattresses were very uncomfortable and made lots of noise when getting in and out of bed. This made it very tricky keeping our one year old asleep.

The room itself appeared clean, but my daughter was quick to find some dirty q-tips on the floor and try to eat them... yuck. Had to kill a few spiders that seemed to come out when the lights went off.

Was it worth the price? Maybe. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeytown34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Ligonier, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This motel, and my room were very clean. The rooms are plain, but neat. The internet connection was one of the best I've had in a motel, even the most expensive of them. The television was good, with good channels. There was coffee in the lobby from about 6 a.m until 10 a.m. My grandson was with me, and he used the hot tub, said it was good. Air and heat worked without a hitch.

My stay was five nights. Everyday the room was cleaned and beds made.

And the price was excellent. I have no complaints at all. When I return to Traverse City, this is probably where I'll stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_C3469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

After i read some these reviews i was absolutely not going to stay here but when i arrived in traverse city on a business trip everything was full but the motel 6. So with no other choice but to stay i checked in scared to death. to my supprise the staff was incredibly helpful and the room was spotless. i dont know what these other people saw but they almost scared me out of the best value in traverse city. if you are ever in traverse city and just need a place to rest your head this is the best place for the money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoenixg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 km away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.1 km away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Traverse City

Property: Red Roof Inn Traverse City
Address: 1582 US Hwy 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Motel 6 Traverse City)
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Traverse City is located in the heart of Traverse City. This hotel is within a short distance to North Western Michigan College, Cherry Land Mall, and Munson Medical Center. Plenty of restaurants are within walking distance, or a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Red Roof Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Motel Six Traverse City
Traverse City Motel 6
Traverse City Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing