We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
US$124
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lions Place(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Antares Backpackers Accommodation(Grietjie Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris(Phalaborwa)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Leitao Lodge(Phalaborwa)
US$45
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casart Game Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
118
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery nightswimming poolthe reservethe main housegreat hostsafrican wildernesswild animalswater holewatering holebeautiful tripfriendly dogsrecommend this resortnational parkexcellent foodat homepleasure of stayingprivate game
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We spent a wonderful 4 days at Mbizi.
Right from the start, entering the reserve for the first time, we were struck by the sight of an elephant crossing the track in front of us.
The lodge was perfect - a very peaceful and tranquil setting. The views all around were of the bush - as far as the eye could see - breathtaking, especially knowing that there were no fences between us and the animals. The cottage was clean, bright, comfortable and a little quirky. We had our own veranda and got up at 5.30 one morning to watch the sunrise from it which took our breath away.
Michael and Mette were brilliant hosts, very friendly, interesting and nothing was too much trouble - they made sure we had everything we needed, helped to organise our activities, accompanied us to and from our cottage in the dark! Michael took us out on a safari around the Grietjie reserve in which the lodge is found. We saw zebra, giraffe, kudu, impala, buffalo, warthog and elephants to name but a few! Michael was very knowledgeable about the animals, the reserve, Kruger and Phalaborwa - we had some lovely chats!
Mette is an amazing cook and the food was delicious. We enjoyed every mouthful! The dining room had a great view of the watering hole and we ate on the veranda one evening under a star filled sky and listening to the sounds of the bush.
Our stay went far beyond our expectations and we really hope to return for another visit.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank burton12120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you so much for your very nice review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the bush and would love to welcome you again at Mbizi

Kind regards

Mette & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Really enjoyed our stay at Mbizi. Michael and Mette were great hosts and took good care of us. I felt at a friend’s home rather than in a lodge. The lodge itself and the guest houses are very nice. We traveled with 4 kids and they loved it too - the pool, 3 wonderful and friendly dogs and the area in the main house which they used as a playroom kept them busy at all times.

The best part were the views and the animals that we saw. Sipping tea on the veranda and watching elephants pass 10m away from you is pretty spectacular. Unlike other lodges, this property is not fenced so animals roam freely and you could see elephants, giraffes, warthogs, jackals, etc. You have to be a bit more careful when you get back to your house at night but it’s totally worth it.

Overall, we had an amazing stay and would recommend Mbizi to anyone going to Kruger and vicinity.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vassil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Vassil

Thank you so much for your nice review, we are happy that you all enjoyed staying with us at Mbizi.
The dogs also enjoyed the company of your kids, they slept for hours when you left.
We are also glad that your mentioning that we are unfenced. 2 days ago we had a heard of buffaloes that slept between the main house and the cottages, but then we of course drove the guests to their rooms in the game vehicle.

The best wishes for a happy New Year
to all of you

Mette & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The short:
It has taken me a very long time to write this as honestly I have struggled to write a review to do the Mbizi Bush lodge Justice. The photos start to paint a slight picture but honestly this is a place you just have to go there to experience. Unique and breathtaking, I can honestly say this is one of my favourite places in the whole entire world. I would not change one thing (and I am very fussy and like to believe I have very high standards), I highly recommend. We only just left South Africa but we feel so unsatisfied with our short 5 day stay at the lodge we are actually in the process of booking to go back next year to stay for longer, this says it all.


The long:
We found this lodge as not only did it tick our boxes of being located right next to the Kruger, but it looked lovely and of course was within our price range. I can honestly say what we got from the Mbizi Bush lodge and from Mette and Micheal was way above and beyond what we paid for. Even before arriving, even before putting a deposit down Mette and Micheal were so helpful, and treated every question we emailed them with time and care. Absolutely outstanding customer service and we were not even their customers yet!

The Mbizi Bush lodge is nestled into the Grietjie Game Reserve, on arrival driving up to the lodge your safari adventure begins. Then when arrive at the lodge you are welcomed by Mette, Micheal and their 3 lovely dogs, now I am not a dog lover but by the end of my stay, they had become part of the family. Consisting of only 4 rooms, it feels like your own hotel/home away from home where you are only surrounded by your own noise and the wildlife.

They are very modest, but Mette and Micheal have done an absolutely amazing job of creating such a gorgeous interior across every room in the lodge. A work of art which is practical, works with the climate and surroundings whilst creating a beautiful South African charm. Within seconds of arriving I just wanted to move in and live there forever. Every little detail was just perfect and I can be a very hard critic as I have mentioned.

I would not change a single thing. The pool is just spectacular, from the breathtaking views at night of sunset to seeing animals during the day. One of our highlights (so hard to pick as everything was great) was Mette’s cooking, honestly every night was just DELICIOUS better than most 5* restaurants I have been too around the world. You constantly feel very safe and secure at the lodge even with the animals roaming around as Mette and Micheal do such a great job of looking after you.

Honestly all 4 of us absolutely loved it, and feel so lucky to have found such an wonderful place to create amazing lasting memorioes.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Francesca

Thank you for all your very kind words, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to see you in September and think it is wonderful that you bring Mum & Dad
We are looking forward to meet all of you again.

Best wishes for a happy New Year

Mette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at this lodge. You can go to the Krugerpark in the early Morning (which is 20 min drive) and jump in the pool and have a great wine afterwards. Mette & Michael do have a lot of info for you were to go (in Krugerpark or for lunch outside the park). The food in the lodge is great with good wine and a lovely Krugerpark view. We have seen Elephants and giraffes during breakfast and diner! Please go to this lodge & Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 203tessv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mbizi and also enjoyed the wildlife company during meals ; )

Best wishes for a Happy New Year

Mett & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Wow! We spent 4 nights at the lodge and loved every second of it - our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough! There was 4 of us (2 couples) so we stayed in the lodges that had the connecting veranda - we sat outside every night after dinner trying to spot some game. The pool area was looked after so well - we loved sitting around the pool trying to catch the elephants visiting the watering hole (which we managed to see). Every night Michael and their 3 dogs would walk us back to our lodges - we loved this and their friendly dogs Buster, Rafiki and Luna. Mette's food was amazing!! Now we know what all the good reviews are about! We loved not knowing what we had for dinner until we sat down and had it put in front of us. The presentation of the dinner every night was like you were sitting in a 5* restaurant! Michael and Mette were very helpful with all of our questions before arrival/during our stay/and even after our departure! They booked all of our tours/transfers for us and everything was perfect. We also did a game drive with Michael which was very interesting! We will definitely be back again but for this time even longer!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette K, Owner at Mbizi Bush Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Vickie & Co

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mbizi, we also loved having you guys staying with us.
We will look forward to see you soon again.
Have a nice holiday season and the best wishes for a happy New Year

Mette , Michael & dogs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews