We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff was very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We were glad to find a location not to far outside the city of Detroit that had facilities to prepare our own meals. I didn't care for the tub (the tub crackled and crunched) and shower - but it was clean. We were also truly grateful for the FREE washers and driers on the property. It was VERY close to 2 different freeways and that was super cool. All in all it was a good stay. I would stay again if necessary.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bjc629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear bjc629,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel amenities, facilities, and convenient location. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Best Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Will be staying here for 3 days whilst visiting family in michigan. Been to several of these hotels before and they're all pretty much the same. Nice kitchen area with hob, dishwasher, cleaning facilities, microwave, toaster etc. Comfy beds and nice desk area. If you're thinking of visiting here, they do have a dvd player in all the rooms so bring some films! You can also rent board games and films from reception which is cool. Plenty of parking spaces also. Nice location with shops locally.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I use this chain a lot, like the layout, the kitchen, the recliner chair and the rates. This hotel has excellent people, but the room left much to be desired - ripped blackout curtains, arms on the recliner were oozing steffing, floor tiles in bathroom loose and wobbly...but when I mentioned these, the manager took me aside, thanked me for my candor and offered me some additional loyalty points - he was honestly concerned and wanted to make things as right as he could. All hotels have issues - these were bad enough for the 3 star rating - but I will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at end of halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TWC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear TWC1954,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our staff's service exceeded your expectations and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered.It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Usually everything past the "but" is BS and this is true in this case. The room decor of this hotel is pretty nice with well appointed work space, glass front kitchen cabinets and nicely designed bath vanity. BUT.... nothing in this room was really clean. The curtains had spots that made me wish for a black light, the toaster appeared to be cleaned with a greasy towel, the tub had mildew in the caulking and top cover was ready to be replaced. This place reminded of how not-so-well my brother cleaned his first apartment in preparation for my mother's first visit - merely wiped down... not quite ready for overnight guest

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PKimThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear PKimThomas,

Thank you for leaving us feedback regarding your stay. It's nice to know you liked the room and amenities. We do want to apologize for the cleanliness issue you had, especially with the kitchen and bathroom. Your comments have been shared with the hotel management to help us focus and improve our standard for quality, and to achieve complete guest satisfaction. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We chose this Detroit suberb hotel for a 3 day visit with friends and family. The studio room with a full kitchen allowed us to host a few small gatherings. At the end of the day the very clean and comfortable room and bed were waiting for us. A king bed would have been nice but only queen beds are offered. I will return to Candlewood on our next visit.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southfield hotels
2 km away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#2 of 20 in Southfield
301 reviews
1.4 km away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
255 reviews
2.2 km away
Best Western Premier Detroit Southfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Westin Southfield Detroit
3.6 km away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield - I-696
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Southfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield

Address: 1 Corporate Dr, Southfield, MI 48076-3711
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range: €67 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come Home to Comfort at the Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield. Situated just outside the Motor City in the heart of Southfield, our property is the ideal location for business and leisure travel. In the midst of a city that boasts 27 million square feet of office space and home to Federal Mogul, Eaton Corporation, Lear Corporation, Blue Cross Blue Shield and Blue Care Network, Virchow Krause and Nortel Networks, our location appeals to all area business travel. As an all-suite property, our hotel offers the coziness and contentment of home. The Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield proudly offers full kitchens, The Comforts of Home Bedding Package , extensive workspace, complimentary high-speed internet access and laundry facilities, and a complimentary on-site fitness center. Southfield offers more than office parks and corporations. Our city is home to several parks, colleges and universities, indoor and outdoor recreation, and minutes from some of Detroit s premier attractions and venues such as MGM, Greektown, and Motor City Casinos, The Detroit Zoo, Ford Field, Joe Louis Arena, Comerica Park, and The Henry Ford Museum. The Candlewood Suites Detroit-Southfield is also near dining and entertainment options and within minutes of shopping.Our property is adjacent to I-696 and M-10 (Lodge) freeways, and minutes from US-24 (Telegraph) and M-39 (Southfield Freeway). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield Hotel Southfield
Candlewood Suites Southfield
Candlewood Southfield
Southfield Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing