We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really only care about price, so I'd probably stay there again...”
Review of Springwood Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Springwood Suites
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really only care about price, so I'd probably stay there again...”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My aunt got married this weekend and we stayed from sept 2-5. I needed a room that would be comfortable for our family. I booked our room based on price, then started reading the reviews... As far as the area, I spent my summers in Detroit so I was familiar with the area, and it was close to my aunt's house as we were in town for her wedding. I think its located in an area that if you grew up in the inner-city, you wouldn't really feel like its not safe. With that said, this place looks like a ghetto apartment complex. The pic on their website does not represent what you should expect when you get there, it all looks rundown. The pics they used for the rooms and "fitness center" must have been from when it first opened. The breakfast area looks similar to the pics but thats about it. I have added some pics of my own.

The website states, "...join us for our complimentary, delicious and hot breakfast buffet each morning" I don't think delicious is the right word. The potatoes were cold, the french toast sticks were cold, and everything else was your usual low-budget hotel food, sub-par mini muffins, danish, coffee etc. "enjoy an invigorating workout in our fully equipped fitness room" that statement is pure comedy. If by fully equipped they mean a treadmill, elliptical, and bike in a small room with a few towels then I should've had lower expectations. I noticed that the manager responded to posts on here about the fitness center being upgraded, my question is when?? And until then why not take that pic and that statement off of the website. The pic of the pool is also not the one they have, their pool is alot smaller. "...pick up a game on our Sports Court"... I would have liked to, yet the sports court was just a run-down fenced in area with a pole where a basketball hoop USED to be.

It was obvious that some of the people there on "extended" stay were actually living there. When there is a car sitting in a spot wit flat tires and there are kids bikes outside the door, that seems like more than an extended stay. The parking is terrible, and with people having visitors all hours of the night, you have to drive around searching for a spot. On Sunday around 2:30 a.m. I thought I was hearing gunshots, it lasted for about 15 mins, the next morning I was informed by one of the "residents" that it was firecrackers.

The tub in our room was dirty, and you could see footprints, so we first used some bleach wipes, that did not work. Next we tried scrubbing bubbles, that also did nothing, the footprints and dirt wasn't going anywhere, ultimately we did like college dorm showers and just wore flip flops in the tub.

The appliances were beat up and one of the eyelets on the stove was completely broken. When we called and asked for more towels, they asked were we on extended stay and why we needed more. I've never stayed anywhere that the request for towels wasn't answered with a simple "no problem." For some reason they de-activated our room key and @ 2:00 a.m. we had to go to the lobby and have it re-activated. There are 2 ways to get into the lobby and the back door was locked, the girl working the desk motioned for us to go around instead of opening the door for us.

Overall, this is probably one of the worst places I've stayed. If the hotel plays a big part in your trip, and you have high expectations, then I'd suggest looking elsewhere. If you can plan your trip where the hotel is just somewhere to shower, sleep, and keep your luggage then this is perfect. I like the deal on the price, and I know to expect a 2 star hotel, so honestly, I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay D, General Manager at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We have corrected the issues you had outlined in your feedback. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. Regards, Ajay Dutt, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    84
    111
    140
    421
See reviews for
273
160
94
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Not only was this facility dirty, run down, and unsafe ( my husband saw someone getting arrested in the parking lot, and our travel buddies had cockroaches in their room), but they charged my card 3 times. And when I called to dispute it, they didn't even have the correct records of what was charged. Do NOT stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maroof83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfieldsales5shm, Director of Sales at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
maroof83,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our property is located in a very busy city. A hotel environment can sometimes make people unwind a little too much, hence the police's presence at our property during stay. We always put safety first here and have our security staff and police handle any issue that arises. Also, I personally handle any billing discrepancies, so please feel free to contact me so that we can get everything straightened out..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southfield hotels

Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We found 2 adult bed bugs at 5am and than a cockroach in the other bed. Under the bed we found a marijuana cigarette. Went directly to the front desk and was told I would have to wait for the manager to get in. Staff gave us another room and walked in to find horribly stained couch and chair, the stuffing was missing from the furniture and stains on the wall. It was disgusting! There was no internet or phone book to look for other hotels. Finally got ahold of the manager 3 days later and he would not refund the cost of the room. He did not return phone calls and was unreasonable when I was able to get him on the phone. We called ORKON and followed their suggestions to not spread the bugs and it cost over $50 to wash everything and had to throw away all food and luggage. Manager said that was my choice and would not help with that cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfieldsales5shm, Director of Sales at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Laura A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please contact me personally so we can work on correcting these issues, so that we may provide you with a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2011

1. No towels in Room by 3pm Checkin. When I called to complain, I was told, "I had to wait until they do their runs". I personally thought that towels were a part of room preparation, thus the 3pm checkin time.

2. When the towels arrived, they had hair on them prior to my use, consequently I didn't use.

3. The TV didn't work; I had to request a new remote and after trying three times, it was corrected. The remote actually had tape on the back of it.

4. The phone adjacent to the bed did not work, not only didn't it, but it wasn't even plugged into a line to work.

5. Trash bins shouldn't be outside a customer's door entry which in fact it was, also bed linen including sheets should not be on the gound outside the room. That is extremly unsantitary.

6. BUGS; and typically I understand nature, but an establishment's cleanliness or lack thereof plays a role in the increase of them, especially in the guest rooms.

7. Theres NO workout room as advertised unless you consider a closet with a treadmill a workout experience

Room Tip: Penthouse Only if you must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfieldsales5shm, Director of Sales at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Mark S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Due to our high occupancy and large volume of guest requests for extra towels and linens, the hotel does sometimes fall briefly behind on getting a new rotation of towels and lines out on property. We always make sure all the arriving rooms are cleaned and ready in time for check in, but every so often a few rooms might still be having the towels delivered to them. We always do our best to keep up with our guest's requests, but we are a very large property. Also, since this property is an extended stay property, we leave large trash and linen disposal devices outside each building so that our guests don't have to walk all the way to the lobby each time they want to dispose of something. These things are in place for our guest's convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

enjoyed the stay. front desk was pleasant checking in/out. room was clean and more than what i was expecting in terms of kitchen with utensils, fridge, stove and microwave, sofa sleeper, with flat screen tv, comfortable bed. was an overall great stay. located in heart of great city, southfield. with lots of major corporations presence, theaters, shopping, restaurants, bars, parks,and more.

Room Tip: room was a home away from home oasis.enjoyed the stay. room was spacious that cover various spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onthatspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfieldsales5shm, Director of Sales at Springwood Suites, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Onthatspot,

Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the room's amenities and service from the front desk staff. My staff and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southfield
17.3 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dearborn/Detroit MI
1.6 km away
Comfort Suites Southfield
Comfort Suites Southfield
#1 of 20 in Southfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.8 km away
Detroit Marriott Southfield
Detroit Marriott Southfield
#6 of 20 in Southfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Southfield/Detroit
1.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit, Southfield
2.6 km away
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
Courtyard Detroit Southfield
#4 of 20 in Southfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springwood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springwood Suites

Property: Springwood Suites
Address: 26700 Central Park Blvd, Southfield, MI 48076 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Southfield)
Region: United States > Michigan > Southfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Southfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Springwood Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel located in Southfield's city center, offering free high speed Internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet, M-Th evening manager's reception. Easy access to many restaurants, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Springwood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Detroit Southfield Hotel Southfield
Hawthorn Suites Southfield
Southfield Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing