We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Ambiance”
Review of Hotel Nichols

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nichols
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Really enjoyed the quaint historic hotel. Each room is uniquely decorated and the property is central to everything in this beautiful harbor town. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and we will be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 350pablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

It is a charming old building that has been updated but retains old time charm. It is very clean and the people were very cordial and helpful. It is conveniently located within walking distance of both Lake Michigan and the heart of the downtown tourist district.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank romerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

I've been coming to Hotel Nichols for years. I love it's charm, hominess, cost-effectiveness and convenience to beaches and downtown.. The new owners seem eager to continue in it's tradition. They also seem sincerely interested in what can improve it. I liked getting a warm breakfast instead of the previous continental one.I look forward to seeing a few tweaks on an already great place!

Room Tip: If you want your room refreshed over the weekend, you need to request it.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bren811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My wife and I had a weekend where there was nothing planned, so I said why don't we take Friday off and go on a mystery trip. So we headed to Grand Haven, Saugatuck and South Haven MI. Hotel Nichols was like a B&B with your own bath. It was clean, centrally located and the staff was friendly. Apparently we stayed on the last night of when ownership got transferred. Which was ok. The only inconvenience is lack of coffee in the early morning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidlX3695LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Atmosphere, accommodations, location are awesome. The hotel is clean and well maintained. We will be making this a regular stop each year. You are literally a block or two away from everything downtown.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank toddrF7322OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Haven
3.2 km away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#4 of 11 in South Haven
199 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
2.1 km away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
152 reviews
36.2 km away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
233 reviews
2.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nichols? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nichols

Address: 201 Center St, South Haven, MI 49090-1311
Region: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > South Haven
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in South Haven
Price Range: €81 - €293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nichols is located right int he center of historic South Haven. Browse through pictures of all of our rooms. We may be over 100 years old but we offer all modern amenities(full baths, ac, WIFI, cable, etc) All of the shops, restaurants, coffee shops and attractions begin right outside it's doors. Beaches, marinas, parks and pier are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nichols Hotel South Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing