We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
87
11
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
11
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese harbour room other guests lake michigan egg casserole fresh fruit deck overlooking the lake brownie bites watch the sunset quaint little town warm smile delicious breakfast following morning queen bed white pine gracious hosts stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

I'm going to start with a positive like others. The view of the lake from the backyard is simply magical (with occasional train going by a plus for me). My wife and I ended up picking up a pizza and salad from Silver Beach Pizza, as well as a bottle of wine from White Pine Winery downtown, and sat at the table inside the Inn. Then, we took our wine to the deck to watch the sunset and enjoyed the water. The hosts Wil and Brandy were nice people, and Wil was always making sure that we were taking care of. Their homemade breakfast was very tasty. When we first drove by, we simply missed the inn coming from downtown. There was practically no sign near the street. The sign is actually on the house. When you see "South Cliff" on a sign near the street before the Inn, look for a landscape wall that comes next. We stayed in Harbor Room which was right off the dining room. We were concerned about that, but we didn't run into people right outside our door until the last day when we had to leave by 11am and people were still eating breakfast. The room was decent with a queen bed. We didn't feel the bed sheet and the cover were as fresh as we were used to, so were wondering about that. Definitely, needless to say, some detailed housekeeping/cleaning would have been ideal. Some long hairs on a couple of chairs, on the bathroom floor and tub walls, tub surrounds, and the toilet seat. The toilet bowl was not 100% clean. There was a soap dispenser in the shower, but it was not full. That just told us that there needed to be some courtesy to clean, especially if we were paying $250 per night. The walls were kind of thin. We could hear the people in the front room, people when they are in between the breakfast counter and the hallway, and the floor noise and toilet flush from upstairs. Though Wil and Brandy were nice, we didn't think the girl (who happened to be pregnant) was not welcoming or friendly (not even a smile from her) when we first walked into the inn. Even though there was a hot tub, the lid was on the whole time, and no one said anything about it. In summary, other than the hosts/owners, their breakfast, and the view, it was overpriced for the rest, and we left with somewhat a mixed review of this place.

Room Tip: Maybe the upstairs or the Suites down in the basement level
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tsucchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I have been to MANY B&B's before, but this one was by far my favorite! The view alone is a reason to go. The deck that sits over the bluff is a perfect place to sit and just relax. The ground are beautiful with tons of flowers and foliage. The hosts, Brandy and Will, are fantastic! They did an awesome job on the food and drinks. The breakfast was so delicious and filling, with lots of options. We barely wanted to leave the B&B, but when we did, the downtown and surrounding beaches were great. There are some nice restaurants and good places to shop. It was a really romantic place to stay with a significant other. As a matter of fact, I got engaged on this trip! Couldn't of asked for a better place to celebrate the 4th of July holiday weekend. My fiancé and I are already planning on going back!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneeTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandy j, Owner at South Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thanks Renee. We loved having you guys and are honored that Ray popped the question here. We hope to see you again soon! Champagne is on us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

This was our first trip to a B&B and it was lovely. The home is beautiful and has an amazing view. Loved sitting on the bluff watching the sunset. Will and Brandy were so welcoming and provide a fantastic breakfast. Also enjoyed Happy Hour and Brandy's sangria. Close to town and beaches. While Silver Beach is great we loved Tiscornia Park. The kite surfers were fun to watch.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sle516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brandy j, Owner at South Cliff Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon. And thanks for the reminder - it is time for another round of sangria :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Here are the pros:
Great view and garden retreat
Friendly hosts
Comfortable bed
Inside is quiet
Happy Hour is really a treat
Refrig stocked with drinks
Delicious breakfast
Cons- or rather some adjustments could be made as updates continue:
$$$ high price tag
Too Hot! The thermostat could not keep up. It was set reasonable at 72, but it was 80 degrees.
Carpeting needs replaced
Needs some freshening
Shower head needs work

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WelcomeNest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Beautiful and unique grounds with incredible hosts, Mark and Bill. Variety of rooms to select from but book in advance. We stayed the Harbour Room and it was quaint room with views of the lake. Nice little seating area to oversee breathing taking views. Happy hour with wine and cheese, brownie bites before bed, and a great breakfast the following morning with multiple selections for all. Close to downtown and beach. A true gem of St. Joe's Michigan!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Annie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews