We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
78
15
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
15
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed rooms continental breakfast treehouse room cinnamon rolls nice couple mackinac island night's sleep bagels coffee maker several years place to stay rooms are clean english muffin elaine hosts casino motel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

After staying at Bear Cove Inn three times, this has become our favorite place to stay when in the area. It’s delightful decor, comfy beds and cleanliness creates a homey home away from home! The owners are a joy to deal with and are very helpful at all times! We love the fact that we are not staying in a motel chain with cookie cutter type rooms.
We have talked with other guests who have enjoyed their stay at Bear Cove Inn too!
Thanks for creating such a lovely place to stay!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jbjdeyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearcoveowner, Owner at Bear Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are happy you enjoyed staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Checked in around 7:30pm, smelled musty, left the windows and had the door cracked while we went to the casino and dinner. Came back around 11pm, still smelled musty. The other couple that was with us in the room next door found a used condom wrapper beside their bed on the floor. They went to the front desk and the lady said “well do you expect me to get on my hands and knees to clean?” And aside from that there was dust, dirt and cobwebs in obvious places that should’ve been cleaned prior to us checking in. Told the owner we wanted our money back and that we weren’t going to stay there and she demanded us be out in 15 minuets and she came out to the rooms and argued with us about the “cleanliness” of her establishment. Safe to say we will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Easimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearcoveowner, Owner at Bear Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

In response to the comments:
I just want to say, some "extremely negitive" reviews that are NOT consistent with the overall ratings are usually someone who wants a full refund and did not get one. Then will threaten the business with an exaggerated bad review online. We do understand we will receive negitive reviews, and that we cannot please everyone. But, I am listed online with a 9.1 of out 10 overall business score and a 9.6 for customer service! By the way, gave them both a refund for the following night, and we found no condom wrapper in the room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

I saw pics of this motel while searching for a place to stay near the ferry to Mackinac Island. Couldn't resist surprising my husband. We stayed in the Big Bear room and it didn't disappoint. It was so uniquely decorated. What great imagination the owners have and very talented in creating these unique spaces. The room had 2 comfortable queen beds. The owners put out a bowl of complimentary snacks which is a nice touch and while they don't serve breakfast there are restaurants in the area. The room has a micro, coffee machine and small fridge. The price was very good and if we were able to give half stars I would give this motel a 4.5!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Moltrasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearcoveowner, Owner at Bear Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

The only reason we didn't give all thumbs up here was because the bed was not the most comfortable we've slept in. But The Bear Cove Inn is a whimsical, clean, well cared for spot for a night or two, and at the best prices we found in St. Ignace. The room we had was fairly small but that wasn't a concern since we spent almost all our time on the Island and only needed the beds for a good night's sleep. The owners were quite friendly and check in was quick and painless. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ccothernII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearcoveowner, Owner at Bear Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for the nice review. I just wanted to say, all of our mattresses are pillow topped and we try to stay with a medium firmness to the mattresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Nicely located for travel in the area with quick access to the interstate. Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. If you are traveling south on I 75 get on the interstate just north of Bear Cove. As you approach Mackinaw Bridge stay in left lane as traffic is heavy at toll plaza and may be backed up. Safe travels.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearcoveowner, Owner at Bear Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

We want to thank you for the wonderful response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews