We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Called to make a reservation for my wife who will not make her connecting flight at DTW. The desk said they can make the reservation but refused to take my payment over the phone. After giving them the info about her, the woman asked for my credit card to secure the reservation and said that it would be non-refundable. "Think about the logic here." I asked, " If you aren't able to charge my card for the room payment, how can you charge my card if they don't show up?" Their reasoning was that they can't charge it without my photo ID. She then got short with me saying that it will now be a cash hold. When I asked what that meant, she said that there is no guarantee of the room since there is no credit card. I said, that I have a card and ready to give the number but she still insisted it will now be a cash hold and wasn't willing to accept my card under their inconsistent policy. This is the 2nd time I've had to give a negative review of this property and there is simply no excuse for the in experience and lack of customer service at this establishment. Time to move on. Book anything else since there is plenty of selection in the immediate area.

Room Tip: Make sure you find a room that has been recently remodled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stevelZ8388HW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

This place is a slum. The halls are filthy, covered in good or garbage. Sheets smell like the person who slept there before and I’m not sure they were changed. Paper thin walls, noisy, filthy. Loud argument outside my window at 1 am, I left in the middle of the night. Don’t believe the 5 star ratings. Someone’s getting paid to do that. Even if my bad experience was an exception, no more than a 2 -3.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

I stayed at the HoJo after a late flight before heading home. It was okay, I didn't want to use the shower. It wasn't gross necessarily but not so much clean either. The linnens were crisp and felt clean. The decor was updated but the facade was crumbling in places. For less than $70 it wasn't bad for one night.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kochgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

When we checked there was a what I assumed a guest asking the lady at the counter who was in his room because he was missing money. Not very comforting also very noisy at night hard to sleep

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank ericbJ6085GD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

We checked in with our reservations that were quickly and accurately looked after Bt Shaina. We went out and parked our truck in the long term parking location. As we were leaving our truck we were approached by a male asking for money. He gave us a story about his mother having a heart attack and not being able to get a cash refund for the room from hotel staff. We went in and spoke to Shaina again and advised her about the male. She advised he had not even been in the hotel and that his story was a scam. She went outside to chase the male off but couldn't find him.Shaina had to deal with checking in people so she got Ali to go around again. Ali was also super and advised he would keep an extra look out for the male. Both these staff members went above and beyond to put our minds at ease. We went to our room and found it clean and comfortable. We had an amazing good night sleep in the comfortable beds. The wake up call came on time and the shuttle service also got us to the airport on time and stress free. We did not take advantage of the breakfast but it looked very good. We have done other park and fly stays with other hotels and there has always been problems of some sort. We will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank johncU2504XJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Romulus hotels
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Detroit Metro Airport
1.8 km away
Knights Inn Romulus Detroit Metropolitan Airport
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Romulus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#17 of 26 in Romulus
315 reviews
0.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Detroit Airport/Romulus
1.7 km away
Days Inn Detroit Metropolitan Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport

Address: 31119 Flynn Dr, I-94 Exit 198, Romulus, MI 48174-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Romulus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Romulus
Price Range: €50 - €62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Romulus Detroit Metro Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Romulus/Detroit Metro Airport Hotel Romulus
Ramada Romulus
Ramada Detroit Metro Airport
Romulus Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing