We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place on the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zukey Lake Tavern

Zukey Lake Tavern
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Pinckney
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun place on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The food can be a little uneven (I'm not fond of their buffet), but super pizza, wings, burgers and fish. The atmosphere is great. A favorite experience was seeing dads and their daughters watching the Women's World Cup and cheering on the USA.

Helpful?
Thank sistermorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    77
    33
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Locally owned historic tavern. Caters to summer clientele with boat access on Zukey Lake and a roof top patio. Meet up with friends for a drink or bring the family for pizzas. Try the breadsticks! Many current patrons are natives/locals and have seen this place grow bigger and better. Try to catch live music. It's worth it!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nationalrover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Funky name - Great food, great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and have only dined in a couple of times but we do carry-out regularly. There are (at least) 4 other pizza joints closer, but I always pass them to come here. They don't deliver, but it's worth the drive.

Pros:
Service - excellent. Generally younger, energetic staff keep the place hopping.
Food great - pretty standard restaurant-pub fare, just done well. Prices are reasonable.
Cool rooftop deck gives good view of the restaurant's namesake - Zukey Lake!

Cons:
Nothing really except that the carry-out counter is nestled away in the back of the large rabbit warren of the place.

Bottom line: If you are looking for a quiet, candle lit dinner look elsewhere. If you want a laid back atmosphere with a decent selection of standard, middle of the road grub, this is your place. (All those boats that pull up to their docks for carry out can't be wrong!)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo_and_the_band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only order from chef insert menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Anyone that states this restaurant has a single good item on their original menu clearly does not understand food. Chef's insert menu provides relatively great tasting, good quality plates at reasonable prices.

Beer wine and alcohol prices are absurd!.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AKAtheCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid-Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fun Tavern With Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We've been here a couple of times with friends/family when we've rendevouzed with them in the Pinckney area, and we've also gotten takeout pizza from Zukey's. We ate in at lunchtime -- not during "party central" time in the evening -- so the place was quiet and relaxing...a good midway stopping point during our friends' "chain-o'-lakes" boat tour. (Zukey's has a dock for boat visitors.) Their fried cod sandwich is good; their burgers are good; I've enjoyed their soups too. The pizza was quite good. And we get lots of mileage out of Zukey's T-shirts -- it seems that whenever/wherever we travel, when we wear the Zukey's shirt we meet people who've been there.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigandress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zukey Lake Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Zukey Lake Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing