We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
52
41
12
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
41
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honor system nice reprieve roadside motel pulled up beautiful view comfortable room a lovely stay bike path stay there again watch the sunset view of the water enjoy the view pancake house charming place easy access an older hotel queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Great choice for lodging that is clean, comfortable, vehicle parking right out front, great housekeeping personnel & receptive attentive office staff....*would certainly stay there again......location is easy to access....

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Verne and Shirley along with our staff thank you for your review. You made our day! Bay Inn of Petoskey is small, vintage independent Inn

overlooking Lake Michigan. We hope you enjoyed opening your windows to the breezes of Lake Michigan....along with our premium

mattresses and linens.

Please come back soon. Fall colors and our winters over-looking Lake Michigan are so beautiful!

Happy Trails,

Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We were visiting friends in Petoskey where my granddaughter has visited before. She suggested we have the Sunday Brunch at the Bay Inn and it was great! So many different items from breakfast to desserts!! The one table I found included an excellent cheese plate, a cheese spread, smoked salmon and a smoked white fish garnished with fresh vegetables. The desserts were many and delicious!!

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank 431lindaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Sorry, Bay Inn of Petoskey, does not offer a Brunch.

We do have a vintage Inn that over-looks Lake Michigan. Please keep us in mind for a future stay.

Happy Trails,

Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the price, and also enjoyed the view of the bay. Just know that the hotel is across the street from the bay but it’s still a pretty view. We sat out on the balcony on benches in the evening to watch the sunset, which was great. Verne was great, super friendly, a perfect hotel host. For a simple hotel, they are still pretty thoughtful. There were coffee mugs and wine glasses in the office that we could take to our rooms, along with some complementary snacks to pick up for our enjoyment. And we had a great nights sleep. Just wished the shower curtains were weighted down as they came in towards us while we were taking showers. Basically minutes from downtown Petoskey.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 10feetdiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you for staying at Bay Inn of Petoskey...our charming little Inn over looking Lake Michigan.

The historic area of Petoskey does take you back to a simpler time, as does our Inn.

All the seasons are beautiful with fall approaching the sunsets and views of Lake Michigan are amazing.

Hope you return soon.

Safe travels,

Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

Arrived on a Friday afternoon, was quoted $199 a night single. After some discussion the owner reduced the rate to $180 cash. To me, that's awfully expensive for a simple small room in a 1950s vintage roadside motel with no amenities.

The room was clean & the bed comfortable. But the price paid left me feeling like I had been taken advantage of.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Bay Inn of Petoskey, our little vintage Inn, with all guest rooms over-looking Lake Michigan, offers premium bedding, spacious guest rooms, with white bedspread, wi-fi, microwave, small refrigs and cable TV.and full baths.

Our staff works hard along side Verne and Shirley, owners, to provide guest rooms at reasonable, even in the middle of summer,
when you stayed.

Congrat's on our Canadian friends receiving a discounted rate in the summer.

Happy trails.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

This is our 2nd time staying here. We love it. It's clean and comfy. No crazy extra to Jack up the price. The people that run it are always polite. This will be the only place when we come to snow board at Boyne.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank spellboundmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley O, Owner at Bay Inn Petoskey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you! Verne and I along with staff work daily to provide clean and comfortable guest rooms at reasonable pricing.
The views of Lake Michigan are so beautiful in the winter...especially from every guest room with picture windows. Hope you folks return soon.

Safe travels,

Shirley and Verne Osterlund, owners
Bay Inn of Petoskey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews