We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is a lovely country hotel in Semblancay!

The staff were so helpful and the breakfast was lovely.

I can't recommend this hotel too much.

One not obvious point is that the restaurant for breakfast is through the front door and accross the road. It's certainly worth the walk!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We were hoping for a pleasant night's stay on our road home and we were not disappointed. Indeed, we were delighted by both our accommodation and food. Our room had recently been renovated and was stylish, clean and comfortable.

Our dinner was nothing short of splendid. The food was interesting, without being over involved, well presented and tasty. The service was friendly and the owner spoke informatively about both the food and wine and the local area. Add to that the fact that our dog was made most welcome and it could hardly have been better. A delightful place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fasaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We had not pre-booked but were delighted with the location and the place. Our room was spacious, comfortable and provided for all our needs. Good parking. Gorgeous dinner - fine dining! Excellent.
The only disappointment was breakfast which we found lacking in choice and atmosphere and expensive. EU14 each for a DIY breakfast with stale bread - usually unheard of in France.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dolly1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Hotel in small rural town. Bedrooms in building opposite restaurant. Our room a little noisy as on the road side and cars stopped for traffic calming and a youth on a motorbike was roaring up and down the street (but we're used to absolutely no traffic). No air con but windows could be opened wide in bathroom and bedroom. Room small but adequate (water, tea facilities, hairdryer, wifi, good towels, toiletries). Good shower over bath but impossible to stop it leaking over floor. No lifts so ask for ground floor if limited mobility. Reviews suggest there may be some bigger rooms.
Private parking. Garden where we had drinks before dinner and excellent "nibbles" (aperitif / amuse bouche) - all home made and unexpected.
Dinner was outside as good weather. Food very good. Attentive service, but disappointed that they argued about wine being "off" (refused to taste or smell it) - when we eventually got a replacement it was obviously superior.
Breakfast an extra cost (expected) but substantial so worth it. Again on first floor so may be impossible if can't cope with stairs. Maybe they would serve in lower dining area if asked in advance?

Room Tip: If you don't like any noise, ask for room opposite road, and if there are bigger/more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

I must have stayed here half a dozen times over the past dozen years, always as a destination in itself, rather than a place to break the journey from South to North or vice versa. I like its dependable cuisine, the modest but comfortable rooms and its quiet village location. I always look forward to breakfast here too. I have a slight perception that it has become more expensive (not just because of sterling's weakness) but I will still come back whenever I want to spend some time in the region.

Room Tip: The annexe seems to have more basic and probably cheaper rooms but is a nice place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard

Address: 2 rue du petit Bercy, 37360 Semblancay, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Semblancay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Price Range: €92 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes outside Tours, in the Heart of the chateaux of the Loire, La Mère Hamard has made its mark on the village of Semblançay. This house has been here for over a century and has a fascinating history. It is in this place that we suggest you crossing a few hours in our company. We could speak to you for a long time in writing about our passion for all which titillates papillae. But we shall not make him: nothing replaces the experience of the plate and that of the glass, which we hope for it will be for your taste. All our products are home-made from fresh products, selected strictly. We attach a particular choice to the origin of products, which we prefer of season and picking. Best Regards, Alice et Olivier Loize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing