We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Longere du Bois Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area
Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Lounge area
Downstairs double room
Wetroom ensuite downstairs
Upstairs king bedroom
King bedroom ensuite
Twin room
Twin room ensuite
Playfield
Playfield and swings
Our woods. Beech tree
Fern lined path in our woods
Italian Cypress in our woods
Sun on winding path in our woods
Cancale port and Aqua Sea
Mont Saint Michel
Roofs on the Mont
And to finish sunset in our woods
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avranches, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marmarsa5
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We, (family aged from 7 to 76) were here for the second year in a row because it's such a great gite. Cheryl is a great host, very friendly and helpful but absolutely not intrutive. She really thought of everything.
The gite has 3 en-suites which is very nice. The ground floor bedroom is also perfect for elderly or disabled, with big sliding doors to living and bathroom.
It's a very friendly looking place, nicely decorated.
Kids can play in the large garden with the available games. They also love to go in the woods, its fenced, so no worries for parents.
The location is perfect, there so much to see; beautiful city's, abbeys,castles, but also zoos and attractions, and not to forget the beautiful nature and beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Dear Marielle and family,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was my pleasure to have you return for your thee weeks holidays. It was so lovely to see you all again. Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali295239...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“welcoming and wonderful”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling with my husband and in-laws, we had a nightmare of a drive from calais due to hold ups. The journey back thankfully took half as long. I would recommend a nearer ferry port, st malo is only approx a 40 minit-if that- from the gite. We arrived to a warm welcome from cherry and David and walked into the lovely gite, a welcoming site and a lovely warm feel, it was perfect. My father-in-law has restricted mobility and he and my mother-in-law had the room on the ground floor just off the kitchen, it is has an en-suite wet room which suited their needs beautifully. The kitchen living room is spacious and cosy with everything needed to hand. Cooking was a pleasure and a social event as whoever was chef was not banished to another room :) I loved mine and hubby's room which was a double en-suite, beds sooo comfy, none of the aches that you sometimes get sleeping in a different bed. Mum and dads bed got the thumbs up too. The en-suite was spacious with nice shower. There is also a twin bedded room with spacious en-suite. Everywhere is tastefully decorated, and very clean. Overall a beautiful gite with character, we loved it and were very comfortable. The owner cherry was on hand if we needed but didn't invade our space. We were very grateful - on returning home after a day out cherry had noticed an oil patch on the ground where we had parked our car. Worst nightmare, a call to quick fit had it towed to the nearest garage and sorted. Imagine our dismay after it had just been serviced. It was cherry and her neighbor who saved the day(our french not being that good) They located the garage and found out the details...before the breakdown company did !!!! The Gite is in a great spot for sightseeing, a few miles down the road you can see Mont st Michel in the distance. Carolles Plage is a lovely beach near-by approx 20 mins drive, great to take pic-nic. St malo, Dinard, Dinan, Dol-de Bretagne.all within easy reach. There are restaurants and a huge carrefour and Lidl nearby, We had a lovely 2 week holiday and would highly recommend this lovely gite and the surrounding places to visit. There are few places when searching that can accommodate those with mobility problems this Gite was spot on. Thank you cherry :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite and the area and the friendliness of the host
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIND27
KENT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One week was not enough!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled to France with our children aged 11 and 8. After a 5 hour journey from Calais we were welcomed by Cheryl, the most thoughtful and kind host, to her perfect gite. We immediately felt at home and relaxed straight away in the brilliantly equipped, clean, comfortable home from home. The downstairs is perfect for wheelchair users including the wet room and all the bedrooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable.

Our children couldn't wait to check out the woods beyond the large gardens and loved spending time in them playing hide and seek, walking and taking in the sights and basically being kids running around the very safe large woods -even in the rain when my husband and son built a camp whilst us girls baked and had an art day.

Cheryl and David are the perfect hosts always there if you need them and their gorgeous dog Ffion has to have an extra special welcome for being so lovely and keeping our son smiling when he saw her!

There is a Carrefour shop at St James not far from the gite and we found it had everything weneeded to top up the food n drink we had brought with us.

We visited Le Mont St Michel - well worth a visit and Carolles beach...excellent for sandcastle building, rock pooling, wave jumping and sunbathing with a nice cafe and ice cream shop next to a large car park.

We really enjoyed our time at the gite and as soon as we can we are hoping to book again for next year...hopefully staying for longer!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlebea...
Suffolk,England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic gite, wonderful stay”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the most wonderful stay at this beautiful gite. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Cheryl is a fantastic host and has set the gite up perfectly for families. With two small children to keep busy (ages 4 and nearly 2), they loved exploring the 7 acres of woodland, all safely enclosed but with freedom to roam. The garden by near the house was a fabulous play area, and also great for picnic lunches, BBQs and an evening drink as the sun went down. The house itself is brilliantly equipped with everything you could possibly need and was absolutely spotless when we arrived. Cheryl had plenty of local places to recommend for day trips - there's lots to see and do in the area. With beautiful beaches, gorgeous local towns and wonderful views of Mont St Michel, it is a great place to spend some holiday time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodland
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Susan...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled with an 11 year old and a 9 years old and couldn't have had a better weeks holiday. The accommodation was great, the huge garden and woods were magical and Cheryl was the perfect host; friendly, welcoming and superb at suggesting things to suit our two very different children. There is loads to do in the area and we really didn't travel much over 30 mins to find something to keep everyone happy. We would go back in a minute and stay longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and gardens
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing