We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
72
8
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
8
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Hard to figure you could find someplace better in Alsace. Though a bit out of the way, one could say that lends itself to a peaceful hideaway, an undiscovered gem. The place itself is lovely both inside and out. Like staying in a beautiful cottage with modern amenities. The common areas were lovely and our room was terrific. We had the upstairs family suite that consisted of a wonderful main bedroom, a second bedroom for our daughter, and a large updated bathroom. Couldn't really ask for more but more there was. Adding to the charm was Sylvie, the prideful owner and exquisite host who made us feel so welcome and treated us each day to such amazing breakfasts. Other guests who were there at the same time were repeat visitors, which I think sums it all up. People love to stay here and we definitely did as well.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We stayed in Le Schaeferhof for a weekend trip to Alsace in late September and can say it is the best part of the trip and seriously can not expect more. The hotel is in a 10 minutes by walk from Murbach Abbey, and has a lot of charm in the interior design.

The room is perfect, with a sleeping room, separate waiting area and bathroom and area and everything is so beautiful that one can tell the owner really has a talent and has made a lot of effort in arranging layout.

The highlight is the breakfast- what a feast that the owner kindly prepared! Ready everyday at 9am, with fresh bread with a selection of cheese, freshly made juice and sun-dried apple/plum, egg/ham at request, Creme brule (fresh!), Kugelhopf (fresh!), Croissant (fresh!)... and everything tastes excellent- it was a HUGE effort that the owner put into for the breakfast and we really enjoy everything single bit of it.

The hotel owner Sylvie and Robert are very friendly and kind- gave us lots of advise where we should explore to maximize the two days without being trapped in the tourist flood. This hotel is perfect to start your Alsace trip and I can not expect anything that can be better and have to think really hard about minus point to make this review a fair one.. OK, here are two. Because of the season (early autumn) the room can be a bit chilly in the evening but there is an extra duvet in the cupboard which solved the problem neatly. Depending on the service provide the mobile reception is weak but there is free wifi in the whole hotel- and hey who wants to be able to be reached by mobile anyway in such a beautiful hotel :)

Room tip: Excellent room- We had Chambre Alexandre and it was just perfect.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We knew Le Schaeferhof had a good reputation but couldn't quite work out from the website what it would be like. Sylvie the owner is a charming bubbly French lady who makes you smile the moment you meet her. The house is meticulous, the beds firm and attention to detail at every level is faultless. We had dinner on the first night which was a 5 course gastranomique cooked by the host. Highly recommended if you are looking for somewhere to stay near Mulhouse Southern Alsace. We would Definitely come back. The place was charming

Date of stay: August 2014
Thank Roofdownandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We just had the most wonderful and restful stay at Le Shaeferhof. This amazing Maison de Charme has elegance and style. The location is peaceful and close to the Wine route of Alsace.
Sylvia made us feel so welcome. She is a lovely person and made us feel so much at home.
We hope to return there in the not too long distance.

Room tip: We stayed in Room ' Camille '
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This place is truly amazing in terms of style and atmosphere. The infrastructure (with spa and small fitness room with sauna) is very good. The area is perfect for people who like exploring nature and countryside. We will go back, definitely.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank londonpapakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews