We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
150
78
52
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
78
52
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool beautiful building nicaraguan coffee air conditioning stayed one night hot water cerro negro pancakes courtyard renovation tiles usd
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Dear sir or madam,  

I'm writing to you from a point of frustration and anger I'm sad to say.  Our recent stay at this hotel was by far the worst experience we have ever had.  The list is endless but here are most of them.... 

The service upon arrival was cold,  we were handed a torch and a letter regarding the power cut. We went to the room,  which was dirty,  there was paint split on things,  the handles in the shower were on wrong (resulting in burning when trying to turn them off)  the door handle came off, the lights above the bed didn't work properly. 

Then to breakfast.. Bearing in mind we had no power,  TV or air con all night the waitress serving us was very impolite,  cold,  actually walked past us a few times before even dating hello and no smiles ever.  She said we only had 2 options, omelette or local breakfast.  I wanted fried eggs and fruit,  she said that wasn't possible because the eggs can't be fried,  but the omelette could?  We had to ask for coffee,  milk,  spoon etc...  Others were getting menus,  not us.  She was very rude when we asked for fruit saying its not with the American breakfast,  when you have no air-con all night,  everything should be available to make up for it. 

There was no free water in our room we had to ask for that too and it wasn't our in there the second day,  along with shower soap, we had to ask for that too. 

The pool was dirty and the filter wasn't running for all 3 days,  couldn't use the pool.  And still wasn't turned on after we complained. 

We asked to check out and get a refund. We had a tour so had to check out when we returned.  The receptionist offered to help,  we suggested a cocktail drink and some dinner...  a very small cost to you. The food was bland,  left on a table waiting for us with ants and flies on it and no drink,, no table cloth,  salt or pepper,  we had to ask for the cocktail,  which was just a lemonade,  this was the biggest insult and slap in the face...  (it was supposed to be an apology!!!!!) not even any table service,  the height or rudeness. 

Then the breakfast the following day,  we were told by the "manageress" we could have anything on the breakfast and even saw her telling the happy waitress this, when I asked for fruit which was on the menu,  she says that's a mistake and shouldn't be there.  That's not our problem,  if it's on the menus and you give it to other customers and we are told we can have anything,  we get it.  She then asked the barman to serve us instead,  highly unproffesional. 

Upon checking out reception offered another night but we just had to leave we were furious at the very poor standard of everything.

Only a full refund would go part way to making up for ruining our stay in Leon.  

We are totally bemused how you received 3.5 stars,  you would barely make 2 in London.

The response was very lame offering a night in the hotel, when they couldn't get it right when we complained twice and most complaints are the same over a few years.

The pics are the actual bad breakfast opposed to the advertised, the cracked and dirty plastic sugar bowl covered in cling film, the dirty fresh table cloth and salt shaker that can't be used because of the moisture content.

Avoid this hotel, it's heavily over priced and they say they are undergoing renovation..... And that's been going on for ages

All lies and very poor customer service... Actually NO customer service!!!!!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

As others have mentioned the location is great, so much within walking distance. Nearby eateries, nearby attractions. Safe parking. Impressive building, classic mansion architecture, courtyards, loggia lobby. But fair warning, it has a variety of rooms. We ended up with one that had one little window in the bathroom as a light source. It did have a flatscreen tv, ac, two queens, but no desk or chairs. The mansion is such that in the old main building, are rooms with windows, some without, some with direct balcony access.. etc.. there are other areas of the hotel with rooms at the pool, another building is a small modern addition. staff was great and accommodating, offered a huge upgrade to a suite, but we ended sticking with the original. It was undergoing renovations in the courtyard, so the good breakfast food had the occasional power saw and tile noise. The work looked like it should be done by beginning of dec 2017. Back to the room types, we had booked through hotels.com, thought we were going to get a certain type room, and were surprised & disappointed when we saw our room, not what we thought we were getting. Again, staff was willing to move us, but chose to keep it. But we were kind of left with the impression that since we booked thru hotels.com, a lower avg price, we got thrown into a different type. It may be better to contact hotel directly to book your room.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BenN869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

La Perla came well recommended as per multiple good reviews, however, I unfortunately did not experience a four star establishment. I stayed in a double bed room and it was not very clean. One of the comforters was stained and had a small hole on it. The sheets and towels were not white but rather had a dingy appearance. Worst of all, the room had a musty odor which may have been due to either the stained carpeting or the water damage in the bathroom.

I should note however, that the breakfast was very good. There was only one server so it was very slow service but the food was tasty.

The building has great potential and I believe it was going through renovations during my visit (there was workers tiling the plaza). I would hope that the renovations are hotel wide to include carpets, painting, and ceiling repair as these are in dire need for attention.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed with some friends in this well located hotel in Leon. The room was very large and bed very confortable. Warm water, clean and very warm. It has a fan which is not enough to ventilate the room. Nice staff, good menu breakfast and very cool pool

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 189541Cristina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa Lilieth V, Gerente at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear,

Thanks so much for the review, it means a lot to us. Regarding the fan, We do have A/C units in the rooms that works good, I don't know what really happened, next time you know you can come to the reception and ask for to change you to another room, We are here to give you the best experience. Hope can come soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is a great place to stay in Leon, with a secure parking lot, and a great location. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable.Ther service is fantastic; we spent a night on the terrance, drinking rum and having a great time, and the staff would come and refresh our ice bucket often. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luisa Lilieth V, Gerente at La Perla Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear,

Thanks so much for your review and We hope you can come back soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews