We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Austria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
30
46
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
46
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmedical missionapple strudelhot waternicer hotelsthe ownernice garden areanon smokingcentral squarenicaraguan breakfastone nightsecure parkingdouble bedlocation was perfectgreat hotelfront desk staffcomfortable bedsplace to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2017

The hotel location is excellent. It is close to the plaza and Cathedral. Security is top notch. The front desk staff speak adequate English , and remembered our rooms over a 5 day stay. The hotel has consistent hot water ( not common in Nicaragua). The internet access is not always functioning in the room. The lobby always worked well. The room was very clean. The furniture is gorgeous artisan made . The cable TV worked well.. The breakfast was good. I would stay here again. The window opened to street. It was covered with bars for safety.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Director de Recepción at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Greetings from us Mr. Jason.
Thank you for your comment, we were glad you stayed with us. We are always working on giving the best service for our clients, their faces of satisfaction is our reward. About the internet, we worked with two companies with the purpose of giving a good internet access.

Thanks again,
Best regards.
Wendy Bervis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Austria is a very quiete and peaceful place. However i believe there are much better options in León for a cheaper price.

When you arrive in the night there is a matress place on the floor which does not look beautiful and looks like being in a hippie environment.

Moreover, my Friend booked a room for one night. He entered before i did and the recepcionist Guy asked me for 24 dollars if i wanted to sleep in the same room my Friend had already paid.

I have always paid for a full room without taking into account how many people (1/2) are staying. I live in León and i can surely say i have been stolen in this hotel and despide of being comfy i would rcommend to people to go to other better options such as "paz de luna"- "el convento" "hotel la perla" or "flor de Sarta".

I am still amazed about the fact of paying 24 extra dollars for sleeping in a prívate room which was already paid.

This is the first time i write a review below 4 in Nicaragua but this hotel totally deserves It.

Please, dont get the same mistake i did and avoid going here.

Best regards,

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank InigoCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter P, Director General at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Greeting from Hotel Austria .
Thank you for comment.
We would like to clear up a little about the charge that you mention. The reservation was made whit a Tour Operator, this company booked one single room exclusive for one person, the rate is according to the politics of the enterprise. So , if client that already paid to the tour operator a single room, wants to be whit other person, this is an additional charge. Each company have it's own rate politics. Rates are for the number of people.
Maybe your friend that booked for you, didn't explain she paid for one person.
We actually don't know the price of the package you paid int he tour Operator. We just made the reservation for one person not for two, as the tour operator booked.
We hope you can understand us that in any moment we make an unfair charge. The correct way would be booked for two people to avoid this complain.

Thanks again
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Our medical mission team has stayed at Hotel Austria many times over the years. Located just a block from the Cathedral, it is so convenient. Peter, the owner, is on site and he always ensures the place runs smoothly. There is a full restaurant on the premises and serves all three meals. Breakfast is included. The waiters remember your preferences! Rafael is so helpful and smiling! I am definitely going to have that Sacher Torte one day...but I managed to get the apple strudel on my first night in Leon! Refrigerators come in the suites..available for rent in the smaller rooms.
Reception area is always staffed and they speak pretty good English! Hanzel is the best! They go out of their way to be available for the guest. Decent new AC units in the rooms kept things very comfortable...and quiet! Additionally, we needed to store some items with them as our departure took us to Managua early in the morning--no problem...they securely stored our items until picked up later in the day. We will always stay here while in Leon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa U, Recepción at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Greetings from us Mrs. Heidi.
First of all we want to thank you for always stay with us. It is pleasure to receive you and your medical staff. We are able to help in everything our clients need, so they can feel as they are in their houses, their faces of satisfaction is what make us feel grateful with our job.
Thanks again, We will waiting for your next visit.

Wendy Bervis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I only stayed one night but the hotel arranged a packed lunch for our early morning start the next day. The rooms were basic and clean arranged around a pretty central courtyard. In room 19 I had a single and a double bed. A nice walk-in shower and plenty of hot water. There is no Internet in the rooms. It was easy to walk to the old city and all the sites.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa U, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Thank you for you comment, we apologize about your concern. We are going to check that out because we always have internet. We work with two companies in case, if one of those does not work. We give the internet code to client in reception when they need it. We are glad you stayed with us.

Best regards.

Wendy Bervis.
HOTEL AUSTRIA
Leon, Nicaragua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Amazing architecture, secure parking, clean and accommodating! Looking forward to staying there again! Everything smells like wood. The garden areas are perfect for morning coffee. The owner was onsite. The care he puts into this hotel shows.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa U, Recepción at Hotel Austria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Greeting from us Mrs. Francesca

Thank you for choosing Hotel Austria to stay, It was our pleasure. We always work on give the best service to our clients, so we can have their satisfaction which is very grateful for us.

Thanks again, We will wait for you next visit.

Wendy Bervis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews