We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 12:00
Save
Review Highlights
Poneloya Beach, León - Nicaragua

Poneloya is a beach located only 20km from the colonial city of León. You can enjoy nice views of... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
taboadarodrigo
,
Managua, Nicaragua
via mobile
all but deserted stretch

Just north of Las Penitas, separated by a rocky headland is Poneloya. It is a small fishing... read more

Reviewed 23 March 2018
captainronanejo69
,
Keremeos, Canada
Read all 109 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Leon
from US$45.89
More Info
from US$96.52
More Info
from US$165.00
More Info
from US$93.84
More Info
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
36
44
20
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
44
20
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We have spent many week at this beach and find it to be clean and safe. There is a good surf break, but a massive under current that goes with it, You always find good food at the restaurant at the end of the road. Hilda is the best I think and if you go up the hill you will find a line of Ranch Bars and small Commodores. Enjoy the beach and warm water, the sunsets and incredible

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank dingldorf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This was my favourite beach out of the two near Leon (the other being Las Peñitas). We arrived one afternoon to find the huge expanse of beach completely empty except for one other man! The sunset was stunning and the waves large and dramatic. There was a lovely breeze too which made the heat bearable out in the open. It was a little disconcerting on arrival however to find that there are no facilities whatsoever, no cafe's or beach shops and certainly no toilets etc. We walked for a long way down the beach just to make sure that we'd not missed anything. We sat and read surrounded by the large flat expanse of sand all afternoon. The beach is easily accessible from the bus that runs from Leon (I can't remember how frequently it ran, maybe every hour?...) Just make sure that you bring refreshments and especially water with you. I've dropped a star for the lack of facilities but you may find that this a bonus.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank rachaelg815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I really liked the beach and the restaurants. the food is nice, not too expensive, a cold beer on a hot summer day is just what you need. Also the waves are awesome, great fun for the whole group.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank PalikaryaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

One of the most beautiful sunset locations! Restaurant food excellent but noticed after 8 years of visiting, staff a bit less friendly and very bold about asking for tips which has never happened before. Waiter wanted me to pay extra for my second drink which was supposed to be included in our meal.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We decided to go to see the sunset. It was worth it. The beach was clean and the water cool. The views were fabulous. The food at the stalls was ok but not spectacular

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank moralescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews