We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$56
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$56
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
TravelocityUS$56
CheapTicketsUS$56
Orbitz.comUS$56
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
69
42
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
42
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2019 via mobile

A friendly, clean, warm welcoming place - we’d love to stay again.
We stayed for 2 nights. The owner was there to greet us when we arrived late at night from La Ceiba.
The room was clean, the aircon efficient - we slept soundly.
We had a healthy delicious breakfast in the morning of fresh coffee, toast and a bowl of fruit.
The owner sat with us to recommend a walking route.
We had conflicting information about whether Casona Colonial was open or not when we arrived. Weary travellers please note: this is definitely open and a true gem!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 63TimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioDelgadillo, Propietario at Casona Colonial Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2020
Google Translation

Hola Timk :
Gracias por su agradable y buena recomendación, los esperamos, siempre sera atendido con gusto.
Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

I stayed eight nights in Casona Colonial last month, as part of a three week vacation. I loved the place. I loved the tranquillity, the cleanliness, the breakfasts, the humor and helpfulness of the owner, and the rocking chairs. And the location is excellent. It was hotter’n hell in Leon that week, and I spent a lot of time sitting and reading. The room was small and there was no hot water, but the bed was comfortable and a cool shower was refreshing. I got along without AC, which made the price $28 per night. A perfect place to sample life in Nicaragua.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This is a rather belated note to say how much I enjoyed my stay in Doña Rosario's "home away from home" for 3 lovely nights . After a long day, I would spent some quite time with Doña Rosario, in the process understanding the culture, the people, the revolution and above all working on my Spanish . If I ever go back to Leon , it would be her place.

Probal, Calgary

Room tip: Rooms in front of the courtyard
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Probal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioDelgadillo, Owner at Casona Colonial Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018
Google Translation

Hola Probal:
Gracias por su comentario. Cuando regrese a Nicaragua, lo esperamos, y sera atendido con mucho gusto . Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

I stayed a total of 5 nights at Casona Colonial and it was a lovely experience. Rosario and her staff are warm, friendly, helpful and the house and grounds are beautiful. Rosario's garden is a tropical paradise and a labour of love. Casona Colonial is the perfect place to return to after a hot day of hitting the beach, a volcano or just sight seeing around Leon. It is a short walk from everything and I would highly recommend you stay here. I loved it!!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioDelgadillo, Owner at Casona Colonial Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018
Google Translation

Hola Kristina:
Usted sabe siempre sera bienvenida en casa, gracias por su buen comentario.Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

What a great place to stay! Great location, very safe, and the lady who runs it is SO NICE!!! We had a wonderful time, and would happily recommend this hotel to others. Just a heads up - the lady who runs it doesn't speak much English, so if your Spanish is rusty, bring your google translate.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosarioDelgadillo, Owner at Casona Colonial Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018
Google Translation

Nos alegra se sintieran bien en casa, si alguna vez regresan a Nicaragua, los esperamos con gusto serán atendidos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews