We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Lazybones Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazybones Hostal
Ranked #8 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Reviewed 3 December 2015

We stayed 5 nights at the hotel and it was great !! It is a family hostel, most of the time quiet, very relaxing with hamocks and rocking chairs :) Did I mention there is a swiming pool ? yes there is and it is so good !! There is everything to relax :) the breakfats are very good ( try the pancakes ). We were on the top floor just below the swimming pool and for us it was the best place. The only thing which was a bit annoying was that we had to take the stairs to go to the toilet (unless you take an ensuite). But it is really a small detail

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MylL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2015

The truth is, I don't even know where to begin. I really don't. All I can say is stay away from this place. There are many other wonderful hostels in Leon (for example, check out the beautiful La Tortuga).

The amenities at Lazbone are average for a hostel in Nicaragua. Yes, there is a pool. The wallpaintings are nice and give the place a hip vibe. There is no kitchen however, which makes the place a bit of a rip off for its price. It is sort of clean, but not the cleanest. Flip flops in showers are a must. Also, I think the bathrooms only get cleaned once a day, which can be a problem. However, when I stayed there it wasn't busy, so maybe that's why they were not cleaned that regularily.

There is wifi, but the quality is poor.

There was no aircon in the dorms, which is not unusual for hostels in Nicaragua. But unlike many other hostels there were also no fans - unless you count the two measly, barely working ceiling fans (for an 8 room dorm that is). Unlike the excellent Oasis Hostel in Granada, where each bed had it's own fan to cope with the heat, Lazybones provided no fans at all. It was so hot at night, that you could regularly see people leave the dorm to sleep in one of the hammocks outside.

I stayed at Lazybone when I suddenly got ill. When I asked to stay a night longer I was told I had to pay by a particular time for the next night (can't remember what time, I think maybe by 8pm - there is a sign at reception about this). From about 1pm onwards I was chased aggressively by the staff for the cash. I was intermittendly trying to sleep in the heat and was woken up several times being asked for the money. I would of course have paid straight away but I was waiting for my friend to come back from her trip so she could get some cash out from an ATM for me. (I didn't want to leave the vicinity of a bathroom). My friend returned around 6, got cash out for me, I paid in time. It was a nasty experience however, in particular because they knew of my situation and I had paid the previous nights in advance.

A few days later my friend and I both booked on the 2 am lazybones coach to Honduras (one of the most uncomfortable rides ever, other travel buddies who got a coach from Managua for half the price had a much better ride). I didn't want to pay for another night at the hostel, but I thought it shouldn't be a problem for us to go for dinner and come back and just hang out and wait at the hostel until the 2 am coach arrives. Apparently, it was a problem. Although we paid to be on that coach which was part of the Hostels business, they didn't even allow us to leave our backpacks in the hostel while we went out, let alone let us inside the hostel to sit on a hammock and wait for the coach. It was a 'thanks for your money and see you in 6 hrs" situation.

So we left the hostel and just walked the streets aimlessly. We eventually chanced by a hostel called La Tortuga (a beautiful, calm, clean and relaxed spot, check it out). The guy behind reception was awesome, he asked if we needed a place to stay and when we explained the situation to him (that we had a coach booked at 2 am, but that the hostel who owns the coach does not want us to wait at the hostel), he told us to come in and have a rest. I could get some sleep on the hammock and there was even free tea. No charge. Just kindness.

In summary, I had a terrible experience at Lazybone. I hope that people who read this think twice about staying there. I know we are only backpackers, but we shouldn't be treated like this. There is a lot of other stuff that happened, but I hope that the few situations that I have described above will explain to you why I dislike the place so much.

Room Tip: Just don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betontheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazyboneshostal, Propietario at Lazybones Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015
Google Translation

Désolé nous avons du mal avec ce commentaire. En effet, nous nettoyons les salles de bains 3 fois par jours (le matin, l'après midi et le soir), jamais et je redis JAMAIS nous sommes derrière nos clients pour qu'ils payent leurs nuitées, ils payent quand ils font leurs Check Out.

Votre commentaire est totalement faux.....et j ai du mal a comprendre quel est le but de votre commentaire? nous dénigrer? jaloux? faire de la publicité pour d'autres Hostals?

Vous dites que vous avez pris un Shuttle pour la Ceiba via notre hostal, effectivement, nous vendons le Shuttle pour la Ceiba via l agence de voyage TORNABE et tous les hostals sur Leon offrent le même Shuttle.
Ce Shuttle part à 2 AM du matin et c'est normal que vous devez payer une nuit d´hostal si vous désirez prendre ce Shuttle, et je ne crois pas que la Tortuga Booluda, comme vous dites, vous a héberger gratuitement jusqu'à 2 AM.
Notre Hostal ce n est pas un terminal de bus....désolé....je sais que vous avez du mal a comprendre cela.
Les Shuttles et l'hostal ce sont 2 entreprises différentes, dire que nous sommes au nicaragua seulement pour faire de l'argent, pauvres de toi.
Nous sommes l'unique hostal sur Leon a avoir crée une agence de tours "Maribios Tours" dont tous les bénéfices sont entièrement reversés aux 10 employés de l´hostal.

Pour finir, nous recevons plus de 1000 clients par mois et forcément il y a toujours 1-2 clients par mois qui sont aigris par la vie....c'est la nature humaine....et on ne va pas la changer.

Cordialement,

Patrick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff, nice common arras(hammocks!!!), clean rooms, good breakfast and good location. They have their own tour company and arranged a tour for volcano boarding and hiking the volcano el hoyo. The tour and the guides were fantastic. We would absolutely recommend this hostel if you go to Leon.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Lazybones for 3 nights and we would absolutely stay here again! We had a private room with private bathroom, basic accommodations with a bed, towels, shower etc but it's all we needed. Breakfast is offered for purchase everyday 7am-11am (65 cordobas) and is excellent (as is the coffee). The hostel is located roughly 5 minutes from the Cathedral (gorgeous views if you climb to the top). The hostel also has a pool, which is amazing after a long day walking/sightseeing. Luis and the staff are very helpful, we booked our volcano boarding trip with them and it was awesome! A must do! All in all we would absolutely return in a heartbeat!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank aphillips28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

The dorm rooms are right on the street so it gets very loud at night. Good value and the bathrooms were clean. If you're going to stay here bring your ear plugs.
It's in a good location to walk to restaurants, bars and the cathedral. Quetzel Trekkers is also only a couple blocks away if you want to book volcano boarding with them.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.6 km away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.1 km away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 66 in Leon
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
0.6 km away
Hostel El Albergue
Hostel El Albergue
#11 of 66 in Leon
123 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#4 of 66 in Leon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazybones Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazybones Hostal

Address: Parque de Los Poetas | 2,5 Cuadras Al Norte, Leon, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Leon
Price Range: €12 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazybones Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Bones Hostal Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing