We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old style”

The Gingko Tree Inn
Ranked #41 of 152 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Description: If you enjoy the charm and personality of "Bed and Breakfasts," you'll love the Ginkgo Tree Inn. Ideally located in the heart of quaint downtown Mt. Pleasant, you'll never feel like a lost visitor. Staying at the Inn starts the minute you enter the circular drive and it is a fresh change from anything you have experienced before. The Ginkgo Tree Inn offers the services and amenities for a top quality guest discovery. " Food service available for 15 or more " Have us cater your next event " Enjoy a night away from it all in one of our cozy rooms " Unique settings for your wedding and other receptions Two blocks away, downtown comes alive at night with the glitziest of shops and places to dine, walk and relax. Ease away tension on our back patio as you watch the sun set over the Chippewa River. On Thursdays and Saturdays the park behind the Inn is bustling with fruit, flower, and vegetable vendors at the Farmers Market. Restaurants by the Inn are trendy, plentiful, and most importantly within walking distance. Inn breakfasts include delicious chef-made specialties of french toast, omelets, crepes, quiche, farm fresh eggs and jam made with the owner's homegrown fresh fruit.The dining room is a great place to meet with family or any friends you happen to make while tumbling around the neighborhood. Indulge in the luxury of thick towels, amazing mattresses, priceless antiques, and flowers, plants, a scenic path and the river. Our Innkeeper, Jean Prout has reached the point in her career where she has the time to stop and smell the roses with Inn guests. If she leaves the Inn and you can't find her, it is probably because she has left to spend time with her 3 little grandchildren with her wonderful husband (1980). The Inn is a perfect venue for any type of group get-together (15 or more guests) - rehearsal dinners, showers, outdoor weddings, and birthdays to name just a few. After the summer crowds have returned home, enjoy a 20% discount on weekdays from September 1st through November 1st.
Restaurant details
Description: If you enjoy the charm and personality of "Bed and Breakfasts," you'll love the Ginkgo Tree Inn. Ideally located in the heart of quaint downtown Mt. Pleasant, you'll never feel like a lost visitor. Staying at the Inn starts the minute you enter the circular drive and it is a fresh change from anything you have experienced before. The Ginkgo Tree Inn offers the services and amenities for a top quality guest discovery. " Food service available for 15 or more " Have us cater your next event " Enjoy a night away from it all in one of our cozy rooms " Unique settings for your wedding and other receptions Two blocks away, downtown comes alive at night with the glitziest of shops and places to dine, walk and relax. Ease away tension on our back patio as you watch the sun set over the Chippewa River. On Thursdays and Saturdays the park behind the Inn is bustling with fruit, flower, and vegetable vendors at the Farmers Market. Restaurants by the Inn are trendy, plentiful, and most importantly within walking distance. Inn breakfasts include delicious chef-made specialties of french toast, omelets, crepes, quiche, farm fresh eggs and jam made with the owner's homegrown fresh fruit.The dining room is a great place to meet with family or any friends you happen to make while tumbling around the neighborhood. Indulge in the luxury of thick towels, amazing mattresses, priceless antiques, and flowers, plants, a scenic path and the river. Our Innkeeper, Jean Prout has reached the point in her career where she has the time to stop and smell the roses with Inn guests. If she leaves the Inn and you can't find her, it is probably because she has left to spend time with her 3 little grandchildren with her wonderful husband (1980). The Inn is a perfect venue for any type of group get-together (15 or more guests) - rehearsal dinners, showers, outdoor weddings, and birthdays to name just a few. After the summer crowds have returned home, enjoy a 20% discount on weekdays from September 1st through November 1st.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Their white table cloths and napkins come like from the far past. Add the crystal and ceramic, old style carpets and lights. This is a picture of my grandmas dream. Most of the restaurants can't afford it today. The food is good and tasty. Will be back, soon I guess.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mariy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2017



My wife and I stayed at our first B&B "The Ginkgo Tree Inn" in Mt. Pleasant Michigan. Prior to making the reservations I had seen some previous reviews giving them 5 stars so we decided to give them a try. We arrived Saturday 1/25/17 for a one night stay and after talking to the very pleasant staff we found out we were their only overnight guests but they had 28 ladies coming that night for dinner.

That evening prior to going to the Casino, Chef Pete asked what time we would like our complimentary breakfast. Sunday morning we walked down stairs expecting an omelet or such. Chef Pete had set the table with linens, antique dishes, along with two parfait glasses filled with vanilla yogurt, which must have been blended with crème fresh or mascarpone making it very lite, topped with fruit (presentation, presentation... presentation!) He then walked out with an assortment of warm croissants , raspberry Danish, assorted pastries and asked how we wanted our steak prepared. On each plate
was an omelet made with fresh mushrooms, zucchini spinach, tomato, and feta cheese with a balsamic reduction drizzle.

To compliment this was crispy potatoes, bacon, sausage, and petite filet Mignon prepared to perfection! Again presentation, presentation, presentation!! What a class act. The whole experience was far and above our expectations and we were truly impressed, by him, his food, the accommodations and the B&B itself. Would we go back? In a heart beat. The entire staff was very friendly, making us very comfortable and never feeling rushed. Our only hope that when we do go back, they will have a room available. Once the word gets out on this gem we're sure it will be difficult to book a room. Take a bow Ginkgo Tree Inn, well done! *****

2  Thank Faye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We have stayed at the Inn before. The experience this time was different - different time of year, different room, different breakfast and different owner. The new owners are very nice, but, we noticed a difference between our last visit and this one. The breakfast was buffet - it was tasty, but not the gourmet one we received in the past. Last night we did not receive any adult beverage like in the past when we checked in. We did have some noisy neighbors, but the innkeeper tried to quiet them - can't fault them (the Inn) for that. The room did not have an air conditioner, but the windows worked easily. The fireplace did not put out any heat and the tv worked manually but not through the remote. The shower was nice and hot. Bed was very comfortable. Keurig coffee maker in the hall was nice since we are early risers and breakfast didn't start until 8 am. I would suggest they add decaf for in the evening as a choice. An exciting piece of information - the new owners are going to open the dining again. Hopefully, they will have a good chef like before and we will definitely try them out. We would like to visit again when it's not a football game night!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 243DLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanna and Pete L, Owner at The Gingko Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Thank you for your review. Wow, what a crazy night that was and only our second day! We have definitely learned a lot over our first few months. I truly appreciate your patience and understanding with the rowdy guests. We have made quite a few adjustments to the facilities and policies to make sure everything is running smoothly and as they should. Adelaide's Bistro is now open which allows us to serve dinner to our guests every day, even when we are not open to the public.

We just found our tripadvisor listing a little over a week ago! But based upon your suggestion, we have recently added decaffeinated pods for the Keurig machines and it's made some very happy guests. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and are always open to suggestions on how to enhance our guests experience. We hope to see you again in the future with any ideas you have for us. :)
Alanna & Chef Pete Lieber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

From the supper soft linens to the gourmet breakfast, this B&B had everything our hearts desired. We ended up there almost by accident, and now it is one of our favorite places to stay. Jean is a fabulous cook/chef and warmly welcoming. We felt right at home, and now The Ginkgo Tree Inn will be our home-away-from-home every time we visit our son at CMU. Thanks, Jean!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean P, Owner at The Gingko Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2016

Hi Mary Jane, thank you for your kind review! It was wonderful Surprising you and I look forward to your return visit. I love it when people stumble upon us and are glad for the discovery. We will continue the fun the next time you are here and don't forget your 10% discount. Hope to spoil you soon. Jean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I had a perfect experience at Ginkgo Tree Inn. The employees were very friendly, the atmosphere was welcoming, the decor was nice, and most importantly my room was clean and inviting. I would highly recommend this Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gingko Tree Inn also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to The Gingko Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing