We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT OVERLY IMPRESSED”
Review of Ponderosa

Ponderosa
Ranked #83 of 152 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 September 2017

This is Thursday September 21, 2017. It has been many years since we last had eaten at a Ponderosa Steakhouse and so while driving through the Mr. Pleasant area at the lunch hour, we spotted their sign and decided to give them a try to see if anything had changed. We each ordered an entrée without the added salad bar buffet. My wife ordered a chopped steak and I had a chicken breast and we both ordered a baked sweet potato. Both of us received a nice freshly baked roll. Our meals were just so so at the most. Rather bland actually. We both looked at the buffet offerings and found the selection to be somewhat interesting at about the same price or even less than the individual entrée selections. Gone are the days when you could actually watch your steak being cooked on the grill. Don't think we would be interested to return to any Ponderosa in the future.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

We thought all Ponderosas had gone out of business. What a great surprise.Wonderful staff, very clean and every single Ponderosa signature dish available.WONDERFUL!!!!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank kacompt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Recently, while on vacation in Northern Mich, decided to revisit an old favorite from a few years ago.
Ponderosa in Mount pleasant was a nice family restaurant that we frequented often but over the years and with a deluge of new restaurant franchises opening,we stopped going.
Recently Decided to give it another try and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of both food and great service.
The selection at their buffet was wonderful and everyone in our party was impressed by the quality. Wait staff was friendly and professional.
Glad we stopped and will be sure to stop next time we're back in town.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Female cook under cooked my steak and kept bringing it back under cooked. Over read on public site 2 employees fighting in the back of ponderosa . Employees will swear and yell through the window to the back people

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Garret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Nearly $60.00 for 3 salad bars and 3 sodas. The restaurant appeared to be clean and the staff was friendly. The food was just ok, nothing special. In fact much of what I personally ate was a bit bland and my family didn't eat much because it just wasn't very good food.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
Mount Pleasant, Isabella County
 

Been to Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing