We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island NY
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Families”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have kids who are too young to sleep in a separate hotel room and too old to share one with us. We are always on the lookout for self catering 2 bedroom accommodations. Thaba Tsweni was perfect option for us while we explored this area! The owners went out of there way to make us feel at home, even surprising our son with a birthday cake.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Thaba Tsweni in 2 units and were very pleased with all the facilities provided. Everything was spotless and everything we needed was available. The host was most helpful and very welcoming when we arrived.
Our overseas visitors left a pair of glasses in the room and the lodge was very helpful in sending them on to us without delay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The excellent staff at Thaba Tsweni provided us with an excellent itinerary for the Blyde River Canyon that included secluded hiking trails and outstanding viewpoints. I would very highly recommend this friendly lodge.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anacortes
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

It's been said in other reviews but we have to say it again, this place is the best. Wonderful location, good view, spotless rooms with everything we could wish for. The host was interesting and generous with his time and information. Our only negative comment is that we could only be there one night as we had already arranged to fly out of the area the next day. We hope someday to go back to Thaba Tsweni for a week or two. There is much to see and do in the area and the place itself is so relaxing and beautiful. Thanks Wendell!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We stayed in this lodge for 3 nights and were very happy with it's location - very close to the canyon, Sabi, Hazyview, etc. Bed is rather comfortable but mind the noise from passing trucks early in the morning. Although it is a self-service appartment you can order breakfast or dinner from the host if you are not in the mood for cooking yourself. We would deffinately come back to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graskop hotels
8.9 km away
Graskop Hotel
Graskop Hotel
#1 of 3 in Graskop
566 reviews
2.1 km away
Lisbon Hideaway
Lisbon Hideaway
#1 of 14 in Graskop
124 reviews
9.4 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#2 of 15 in Graskop
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
8.2 km away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
8.9 km away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#5 of 15 in Graskop
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris

Property: Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris
Address: Farm 506 Berlin | Berlin Falls, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Graskop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris is situated in the Blyde River Canyon of Mpumalanga South Africa, close to the Kruger National Park. Thaba Tsweni is a family-owned and managed lodge with fully equipped self-catered and catered chalets in a mountain atmosphere of the Drakensbuerg mountains. We are situated close to attractions such as the Blyde River Canyon, Kruger National Park and Mozambique for diving holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thaba Tsweni Lodge & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing