We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$73
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$130
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super Motel(Luna Pier)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
92
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelstudio apartmentstocked fridgestay there againbreakfast itemscomfortable chairsleather chairswent smoothlysitting areasnacks and drinkssee photostreet parkingthird floordefinitely recommend this placefresh fruitslept like a babyrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Lovely hotel in downtown Monroe, making it a great location for anything you need to do. Very large rooms with sitting area and stocked kitchenette. Great bathroom with large rain shower. Very clean and well stocked with toiletries. Great nights sleep on the warm cozy and very comfortable bed! Enjoyed the historical building as well, we highly recommend this hotel for your next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yreaume727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed everything. Bed was huge and comfortable, TV turns so you can watch it from bed or from the comfy leather seats in the large living room area. Big table for eating or doing work, free snacks including small breakfast items and drinks in the fridge, beautiful bathroom. Felt like a home. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Hotel Sterling by far has been the best hotel I've ever slept in! I spent one night and didn't want to leave. This place is BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Very clean and well kept. It is not your typical chain hotel, a boutique hotel with minimal service but fabulous at the same time. I felt as if I was staying in a studio apartment. The king size bed was very comfortable...I slept like a baby! The bathroom was fabulous and very clean....looooved the shower! Only one thing, I was on the second floor, and it seems as if the person above me was wearing brick heels :-/

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank j0dij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Hotel Sterling is a first for me: a boutique hotel with minimalist service. In an old building tastefully renovated with quality modern finishes (including marble bathroom tiles), it is unexpectedly good for the price.

Boutique hotels where I live are small upmarket full-service establishments. Hotel Sterling is rather different – breakfast is a basket of cereal choices, a minibar of included fruit juices, milk, yoghurt and water, and a reasonably good coffee maker. The restaurant advertised as supplying room service and dining within half a block has closed. That is the major downside of the location – it is a tad run down. But that would be why pricing is relatively good.

I wanted a place to stay reasonably close to the airport in Detroit and did not need to eat out so it worked well for me. There are other restaurants a little further away than advertised.

If you want a generously-sized room and want to be left alone, this is a pretty good option. If you want a place where you will be pampered, less so.

Room Tip: Most rooms involve climbing stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

The room was fabulous,the stocked mini frig. was a plus. The sleeping area was very comfortable. The shower was a nice change.The only complaints that I have is they need to update their internet site. Curbside suites ARE NOT on the first floor. There are 2 sets of steps to get to one of the lowest suites AND there is 17 steps to get up to the bed area. Very tough for anyone with bad knees. I was disappointed that there wasn't room service like their internet site said. Over all a nice place to stay if you have good knees.

Room Tip: There is only one suite on the ground level that is fit for handicapped.Suite101. The Hotel is beautiful .
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews