We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel, ever!”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Very clean, fridge/kitchen stocked with goodies. Such a lovely and quiet place to stay. Thoroughly enjoyed the downstairs sitting area and the upstairs bedroom with a big bathroom. I will definitely be staying here again as well as recommending it to all of my friends coming in from out of town.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2016

Lovely hotel in downtown Monroe, making it a great location for anything you need to do. Very large rooms with sitting area and stocked kitchenette. Great bathroom with large rain shower. Very clean and well stocked with toiletries. Great nights sleep on the warm cozy and very comfortable bed! Enjoyed the historical building as well, we highly recommend this hotel for your next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yreaume727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed everything. Bed was huge and comfortable, TV turns so you can watch it from bed or from the comfy leather seats in the large living room area. Big table for eating or doing work, free snacks including small breakfast items and drinks in the fridge, beautiful bathroom. Felt like a home. Highly recommend!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Hotel Sterling by far has been the best hotel I've ever slept in! I spent one night and didn't want to leave. This place is BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Very clean and well kept. It is not your typical chain hotel, a boutique hotel with minimal service but fabulous at the same time. I felt as if I was staying in a studio apartment. The king size bed was very comfortable...I slept like a baby! The bathroom was fabulous and very clean....looooved the shower! Only one thing, I was on the second floor, and it seems as if the person above me was wearing brick heels :-/

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank j0dij0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Hotel Sterling is a first for me: a boutique hotel with minimalist service. In an old building tastefully renovated with quality modern finishes (including marble bathroom tiles), it is unexpectedly good for the price.

Boutique hotels where I live are small upmarket full-service establishments. Hotel Sterling is rather different – breakfast is a basket of cereal choices, a minibar of included fruit juices, milk, yoghurt and water, and a reasonably good coffee maker. The restaurant advertised as supplying room service and dining within half a block has closed. That is the major downside of the location – it is a tad run down. But that would be why pricing is relatively good.

I wanted a place to stay reasonably close to the airport in Detroit and did not need to eat out so it worked well for me. There are other restaurants a little further away than advertised.

If you want a generously-sized room and want to be left alone, this is a pretty good option. If you want a place where you will be pampered, less so.

Room Tip: Most rooms involve climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipMach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monroe hotels
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
4 km away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 8 in Monroe
301 reviews
3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Monroe
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
3.9 km away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
3.9 km away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: 109 W Front St, Monroe, MI 48161-2338
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range: €77 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Monroe's finest accommodations. Suites feature hardwood flooring, leather furniture, marble bath and bar with refrigerator/sink/microwave. Contemporary, first class finishes. Hotel located in Downtown within walking distance to variety of lounges and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing