We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The sunrise over the lake is beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge On the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Econo Lodge On the Bay
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Menominee
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The sunrise over the lake is beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

My second Econo Lodge and it did not disappoint. King room overlooking lake (definitely worth paying the small supplement for) was reasonably spacious with nice furnishings and linens. Appeared to be newly decorated - or very well-maintained! Hotel easy to find on main highway (but little noise). Staff friendly and pleasant - arrived two hours early and was able to check into the room - excellent. Breakfast room nicely arranged and spotlessly clean. Breakfast items fresh and well presented.

Downside was not a lot of choice for reataurants in the area but that is no fault of the hotel. Ate at the Mexican restaurant a two minute walk away - looks average on the outside but bright Mexican decoration inside, clean and a great menu at good prices. Staff very welcoming. Would recommend both the hotel and the resaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor room at the back for a great lake and sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
23
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, WI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

The truth being however this is the best renovated Econo Lodge we have stayed at. The bed sleeping experience was a bit uncomfortable on the back and the breakfast wasn't as necessarily great as advertised. But still a overall good stay with an outstanding deck view of Lake Michigan which is a big plus indeed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannew692010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pecatonica, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Had a delightful time at the Econo Lodge on the Bay. We have simple tastes in a hotel. If it’s clean, comfortable, has pleasant help and a convenient location, we are happy. This Econo Lodge is all of these. Add in the Lake Michigan shore right out the back and you have a winner. The rooms are nothing special but the bed was comfortable and the price was good. We were there the day after Labor Day so it was empty so I can not vouch for the noise when it is full, but we enjoyed our stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room in the back. It is verry convenient and easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mebejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We liked this location and the hotel was very clean with large rooms. Not all rooms have a view - this is an extra $10. Breakfast was good pastries, toast, English muffins and cereal. The cinnamon rolls were best (of the three i tried!)

Staff were friendly. I did lose a ring there (several fell under the bed and I thought I retrieved all, but apparently not, though house keeping never turned it in). Only a $10 dollar ring, but sentimental value. It may have gotten vacuumed up since it rolled under the bed.

The recommended restaurants Schoegels was closed for a company picnic when we were there, so we ate at Perkins. The food and service were fine. There is a senior menu, but avoid it if you want a large serving. The reduced charge is really for a reduced serving as well. It was plenty for a small appetite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I needed a CHEAP room and Econo Lodge generally fulfills that goal. But they are often not the nicest of places. This particular Econo Lodge really broke that stereotype! It was clean, smelled good, had safe parking, and the staff were super friendly. The hotel is actually on the shores of Lake Michigan and some of the rooms have a view. Lake views from an EconoLodge!? Yep.

Bathroom was clean and well lit and the shower had great water pressure. Bed was clean and seemed new. It was high quality, too, and I got a great nights sleep. A/C worked well (I was there in early Sept and it was still warm in the area.) Carpet and furnishings were in good condition and the hotel itself looked well maintained.

I gave this place 5 circles because it was the best Econo Lodge I've ever seen. I've paid twice as much for fancier rooms that couldn't match this place. To top it off, the staff treated me like a valued customer and genuinely seemed interested in my business. It's like a little secret gem in the small town of Menominee, MI!

Room Tip: Ask for a "lake view room" when you book. You might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frog4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menominee
0.3 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Menominee
5.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marinette
4.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Marinette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Marinette
2.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Inn
27.2 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge On the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge On the Bay

Property: Econo Lodge On the Bay
Address: 2516 10th St, Menominee, MI 49858-1902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Menominee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Menominee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge On the Bay 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy affordable rates in a convenient location when staying at the pet-friendly, smoke-free Econo Lodge(R) On the Bay hotel, which is nestled on the beautiful shores of Green Bay in Menominee, MI. We are ideally located near many area points of interest, which include: John Henes Park Nestegg Marina Stephenson Island Theater on the Bay Menominee Twin County Airport Get refreshed in our inviting guest rooms, some of which feature refrigerators and hot tubs along with expanded cable television channels and coffee makers. Additional amenities include: Free deluxe continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet access Free coffee Free pass to the local YMCA for duration of stay Free local and unlimited long distance calls to the U.S. and Canada The hotel also provides an exercise room, picnic area, sundeck and beach access. Take care of basic business needs with access to copy and fax services, and for added convenience, free parking is available on site. This Econo Lodge On the Bay hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Make your reservation today at the Econo Lodge On the Bay hotel in Menominee, MI for a memorable stay in a great location, all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge On the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge On The Bay Hotel Menominee
Econo Lodge Menominee
Menominee Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing