We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Check in service was excellent. Check out service was excellent. Every time we went by the front desk or passed an employee in the hall we were greeted. Lots of customer service training.

We checked in about 3pm and got the last room which was a suite. TV, beds, bathroom, furniture, cleanliness, and furnishing were excellent. Very new. Come to find out they remodeled 2 years ago. We paid more for the suite but it was worth the price.

Okay, the elevator is slow, but that is not a complaint...an inconvenience.

The free breakfast was fine. Reasonable selection.

Great location, just west of Marquette on US 41. Highly recommended and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for supper recommendations...they know the small town sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathon N, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. I was delighted to read your comments regarding our hotel and staff. It's definitely a boost for us any time we get a review such as this one. I really appreciate your kind words. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

I had previously stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 years ago and found it to be a charming hotel with everything that I needed. Hoping to repeat this experience, I booked a room for our family vacation, but was very disappointed. On arrival the first day, we were told we were too early and needed to leave and go find something to do and come back later (it was well into the afternoon). Our stay didn't get much better. While we were there the drain broke in the sink one evening so the water couldn't drain out. It was 8 pm at night so we knew no one would come fix it. We told the check out person the next day and she told us that was basically our fault because they supposedly have someone on staff 24 hours a day to fix things and we should have called them. The fact that it was 8 pm and we were too tired to wait for a plumber to deal with it wasn't really a factor apparently. The drain in the bathtub was so slow that you had several inches of standing water whenever you tried to take a shower. Breakfast was terrible. They offered something that looked like scrambled eggs, bacon bits and tortillas. Fruit consisted of apples. There was coffee and tea but no hot cocoa. We ended up going to the local grocery store on the hill so that we could get something we could eat for breakfast. We left after two days and when arriving at home I got a survey asking how our stay was. I filled it out as honestly as possible and got an e-mail for my response which gave me the impression the hotel manager was less than pleased with our suggestions for improvement. They were particularly upset that I criticized the breakfast, saying their new breakfast was "global" and they were trying new things so apparently people shouldn't complain about it. We stayed at many hotels in different hotel chains during this vacation and I can say without hesitation that we will never stay in this hotel again, and will probably never stay in another Country Inns and Suites if this is what our future experiences will be like. I'm really disappointed because it used to be one of the most reliable, value oriented hotels you could find, but not so much anymore.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathon N, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We do take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. I am so sorry that you felt we were placing blame on you for anything that happened during your stay. It certainly was not our intention to make you feel like anything was your fault because it was not.
Also, we did appreciate all the feedback you gave in the survey you previously filled out for us. It's always nice when guests take the time to provide feedback, and I am sorry if you felt our response did not properly express our gratitude. In regards to breakfast we are trying out some new menu items. I see that the breakfast burrito was not appealing to you and I am sorry to hear that but I appreciate that you have let us know. This feedback helps us in deciding whether or not we should be keeping this particular item on the menu.
I know that this apology is by no means a solution for the experience you had with us, but I do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity in future.

Should you have any concerns during or after your stay, please reach out to any of our employees directly at anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I give the country inn three C's- clean,comfy, and cushy. The pillows and mattresses were better than at most chains and we slept very well after a 13-hour drive. We arrived without reservations, which I do not recommend, only because we didn't know for sure if we would make the entire 13 hour drive from our home in one day or not. We did, and were able to get one of the very last rooms on the weekend. It was fine as we wound up at the end of the hallway on the third floor. Check in clerk was very polite, profesional, and helpful. Breakfast guy, however, needed to move a litlle faster. He may have been new for the summer but on a weekend morning when 30-40 people are trying to eat breakfast at the same time, the hot foods have to be constantly refilled. It was really discouraging to lift the lids and have no fried potatoes or scrambled eggs at all the entire time I was in the breakfast area. A muffin, juice and cereal does not constitute a hot breakfast. That cost this review one star as I was really disappointed. The only other thing I would change would be to to but some parking bumpers along the front of the parking lot. If a car ever slipped out of gear it would take a long nosedive down the hill and onto hwy M41.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathon N, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank your for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your stay. I am so happy we were able to provide you with a comfortable room after that long drive.
However, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “Be Our Guest” Breakfast. We work hard to ensure fresh food is provided and that each item is available for all of our guests. Your review gives us the opportunity to correct any deficiencies we may have in our service. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank M4025DObarbarad
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Johnathon N, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2017

The staff was pleasant , professional and accommodating. Our room was comfortable, clean , air conditioner worked and effective. Bathroom was clean, shower and plumbing in good working order. Breakfast included a wide variety and staff was busy making sure items were replenished as needed. Coffee was available 24/7 . Our room was right next to the elevator and we never heard any noise - we were on the 3rd floor. Overall we enjoyed our stay , would not hesitate to return in the future.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Silver006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnathon N, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. I really enjoyed reading all the wonderful things you had to say about your stay. I really appreciate all your kind words. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
512 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
3.9 km away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#5 of 19 in Marquette
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
60 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
852 reviews
3.2 km away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette

Address: 2472 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Marquette
#3 Family Hotel in Marquette
#3 Green Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: €85 - €194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing