We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding weekend! ”
Review of Camp Tosebo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Tosebo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Camp Tosebo was an ideal location for our small wedding.  The owners are
extremely kind and easy to work with.  The location is beautiful and the
camp provides fantastic amenities.  There is tons of space indoors and
outdoors to utilize for any number of activities.  We loved the huge fire
pit and being able to explore the grounds outside.  Also, the kitchen and
dining area were fantastic and more than sufficient for a large group of
guests. It's great for reunions, retreats, and vacations for couples to large groups. We're looking forward to visiting again!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Our large family had such an incredible time at Camp Tosebo and we would highly recommend it, especially for families with small kiddos. We went the last week of July 2016 with 46 people aged 2 to 91 years and there were tons of activities for everyone!

The small kids (2-6 yrs) loved the freedom of running all over the grassy hill and swimming in the protected section of Portage Lake. The older kids (7-15 yrs) played tons of basketball and had fun exploring the trails.

The adults enjoyed visiting on the shady porch while watching the kids play, cooking meals together in the great kitchen and playing tons of cards in the huge dinning hall area.

- Brought in a square dance caller! Karen Dunnam had our whole family dancing on the camp's basketball court. There's even power up there!
- Used the porch of the Clubhouse as a stage and had a talent show
- Memorable campfires with family sing-a-longs
- Set up our Pickleball net on the basketball court. Our competitive tennis players were impressed with the pristine courts at Red Park, but Pickleball was easier for a wide range of ages.
- Fantastic parade as part of Arcadia Daze (seems like every summer week has a cute celebration in some nearby town)

The sleeping areas worked well too! The young families appreciated privacy in the Trunk House, Kit Cottage and the Welcome House. The 40+ year olds enjoyed staying in the Clubhouse and the oldest members were very comfortable in the ground floor Caretakers Apartment (with AC!). My husband and I stayed up in the Rustic Cabins with the "tough couples" (aged 25-38) and we actually loved it! No power or wifi, but there are two flushing toilets up there and it's perfect for late night campfires!

Random discoveries from 1st time MI vacationers:
- Meyers has everything! A giant local store ~15 min away
- Not having AC in all units was completely fine
- Mosquitoes were minimal and didn't cause any issues
- The sun is up until after 9pm in the summer, so you have more time to play!
- Sleeping Bear Dunes wasn't ideal for small kids. We agreed Camp Tosebo and its beach was way more fun.
- Not having a washer and dryer was the only tricky part for us, but we did several trips to the laundromat.

Our family will deeply cherish the memories and we're so grateful to the owners of Camp Tosebo for sharing their incredible spot with us! They were easy to work with and super responsive.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Old school charm, short walk to the beach, great for kids- playroom and board games. 100 year old boys camp with small town appeal. Minutes from Manistee and great fishing. Highly recommend for family get away. Internet on site. Shared kitchen with other families makes it cozy.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Camp Tosebo, formally known as Todd's Seminary for Boys (To-se-bo), is a restored boys camp that located on Portage Lake (inland lake with access to Lake Michigan. The main building can accommodate around 20 people. The place houses much of the history of the camp, from memorabilia, pictures, to each room having unique name tying back to history of camp. There is the old trunk house that sits behind it that caters to couples. The camp is within walking distance to Portage Lake. They have a private beach area where the old camp Boat house sits. There is also a dock that guests may use during their stay. The lake is great for recreation (fishing, water skiing, etc.). The lake literally spills into Lake Michigan via a small causeway. Back at the grounds, there are grills, basketball court, tennis court, walking trails, and much more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank myconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We came to Camp Tosebo for my father-in-law's 80th birthday celebration. There were 22 of us, from many different states. This camp was terrific!! We couldn't have asked for a better location-the beach is a very short walk away, the main house, where most of us stayed was fabulouse and the trails and places to walk were great. We also rented the Welcome House, for the teenage boys, and that was perfect for them. The main house has a large commercial kitchen, which was great for fixing meals every night. The bedrooms were wonderful and the beds very comfortable.

The entire place was spotless when we arrived. A great value for the money!

Perfect for large groups, families, couples, even a retreat for work.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank churchlady425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
10.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
27.6 km away
Crystal Mountain
Crystal Mountain
#1 of 1 in Thompsonville
761 reviews
11.5 km away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Scullys Manistee Outpost Motel
14.7 km away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#5 of 10 in Manistee
628 reviews
11.6 km away
Manistee Hotel
Manistee Hotel
#4 of 11 in Manistee
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Tosebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Tosebo

Address: 7228 Miller Rd, Manistee, MI 49660-8903
Region: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range: €69 - €122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Camp Tosebo. We are a unique vacation rental/resort located on the shores of Portage Lake near Onekama Michigan. Located near the gateway to Michigan's fabled M-22, Camp Tosebo offers a true northern Michigan cottage experience for large family vacations, group retreats, and weddings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing