We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff in breakfast room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I read the reviews about the breakfast room, but on a Fri and Sat morning in September, the friendly breakfast staff woman made it all worthwhile. She engaged us all in conversation. Each one was greeted and included. We asked questions about Mackinac Isl. & she is thoroughly acquainted w/the area and gave us excellent advice. Thanks for the raisin bran cereal & wheat bread. The breakfst area opens out to the beach, with a patio, and it has excellent views of the sunrise. A "Kodak moment." Perhaps, some tempting muffins and juice could be served in the coffee bar in the lobby to alleviate the congestion of the breakfast room? We enjoyed the proximity to the Star Line--just walk over & get the AAA discount of $3 . Note, there is also a $1 AAA discount for the carriage tour at Mackinac Island. The pool & spa were delightful and deliciously warm on a rainy night!

Room Tip: Don't need to use their coupons for the ferry, which you need to drive to. If you have AAA, jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RetiredSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great view of Lake Huron from Lakeside view King room balcony on 3rd floor. Great bed; pillows fluffy. Amenities: lots of tv channels, coffee maker, mini-fridge, ironing board/iron, hot tub/pool, bathtub in room. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarvinMadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were very disappointed with this Comfort Inn, the room was dirty and dated, not at all what the ad would have you believe. The breakfast was ok, but again the room was dirty with spilled food on the floor, etc. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We usually stay in Comfort Inns, but was very disappointed in this one. The breakfast room was a joke, it was the size of our room, actually that is probably what they did was take a room and make it into this. There were four wooden tables on one side and the breakfast bar on the other side. This room is way too small for this hotel, to get to it, everyone has to go outside, never have we encountered this before, very poor set up.
The breakfast choices were fine though
Would I recommend this hotel, NO.

Room Tip: request a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I was wondering which hotel to choose because nearly everyone here has mixed reviews. But this one sounded OK and had a great price (just after Labor Day, $79 for 2 DB lakefront with balcony). There was really nothing bad and everything good to say. Desk clerk was friendly and check-in went fine, we were given a packet of discount coupons. Actually, there are other ways to get the same discounts (AAA, visitor center, combination tickets from ferry line for the Carriage Tour and Fort Mackinac). The room was clean, large, and had a fridge (didn't use it). There is a small balcony with a couple of chairs which we enjoyed. Beds were comfortable, ample hot water, everything clean. Breakfast was the typical free continental breakfast but including eggs and sausage and decent variety of bagels, bread, etc. and two flavors of waffles (Cinnamon & regular). Just 4 tables inside the breakfast area but about 6 more on the outside deck which is great in nice weather. And a large indoor pool which no one used anytime we walked by. It is just a short walk to the Arnold Transit dock. The sandy beach was free of goose poop, which is a big deal according to so many reviews of hotels in this area. All in all a fine stay. Not an elegant hotel, but perfectly fine and a great bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mensch18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
0.7 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Lakeside

Address: 611 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: €69 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Lakeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Lakeside Hotel Mackinaw City
Comfort Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing