We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
23
26
11
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
26
11
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic tables room was clean ice machine within walking distance motel tv refrigerator office cleanliness properties desk dryer comfort furniture
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We stayed 2 nights there and had a good experience. The staff was very friendly and we had a nice room. We felt it was a good value. Not far from the downtown Mackinaw City area. The lady that checked us had some good recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lsokanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

This little motel was perfect for a quick getaway. We didn’t want to spend a lot on a hotel/motel, and found this motel with an amazing price! The big thing for me is cleanliness. A hotel can be a little outdated, as long as it is clean, and the Starlight Budget Inn provided that. It is not a fancy motel; there was not a hair dryer. So next time I will pack my own; not a big deal to me.

Each room has a chair outside, and there are extras around. The weather was perfect and we spent a few moments of rest just sitting and enjoying the day.

It is close enough to downtown, but away from the chaos and noise of so many people. Next time we will bring our bikes - it is only about a mile to downtown.

The pool had not been opened yet for the season, but there were several other models run by the same owners or management that we could use.

Breakfast was a muffin and coffee or juice, which we enjoyed at the picnic tables right outside the office.

When we return, we will definitely stay here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Catservant62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

The room was actually quite cute. Dated but awesomely nostolgic. And the staff was fantastic. She gave us more than we bargained for. Well worth the stay. And the price can't be beat. Over all experience...12/10. :D Again thank you so much!! Will definitely be staying here again!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Selina2621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, Oct.8. The lady, sorry I didn't catch her name, that checked us in was wonderful. Friendly, informative & funny. We asked about a good place for supper, she said come back & share mine lol. The room itself was clean & fresh, yes it was slightly dated but who cares. I've stayed in more expensive, modern places that had substandard cleanliness levels, i.e. mold in bathtubs etc. I'll take cleanliness & attention to detail over "modern" decor. Beds were comfy. All the comforts for a nice stay where there. Bonus was stepping from your vehicle into the room, no toting luggage around. Nice patio with furniture to relax outside. I'd happily recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was a great place to stay in Mackinaw and now our “go to place!” We were traveling with another couple and we have decided that two bedroom suites have been the way to go for us. They had one here. Everything was clean and pleasant. The first room has a bed, a table with 4 chairs, a desk, a TV and a refrigerator. Then there is a second bedroom with a TV. Each room has their own air conditioner. The motel is a little older and could use a little updates (the bathroom fixtures are pink) but they are clean and functioning. There is a snack room with the ice machine and microwave for guests to use. The pool was nice and the staff was very friendly. It is just a little outside of the main drag, but still within walking distance which makes it reasonably priced and away from the congestion of downtown. We will definitely be back next year for our annual couple’s trip!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews