We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northwinds Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$77
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Mackinaw City)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
5
4
1
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
4
1
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice beachsleepislandqueenlake
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Our stay didn't start well. We arrived around 3pm. The office had an open sign on the door and according to the opening hours sign, should have been. The door was locked however. After checking on the website we found that check-in was after 4pm so we went downtown to look around. When we returned around 5.30 the door was still locked, luckily some guests told us that we had to check in at the next door but one motel! Why on earth they couldn't put a sign on the office door I don't know.

The room we had was clean but the bathroom had a cracked toilet bowl and a lot of mold around the shower head and shower tray. You could connect to Wi-Fi but not browse, as the landing page came up with an error.

Breakfast was almost non-existent. Toasted bread or bagel and sachets of instant oats. There were two large Kellogg's cereal racks but no cereal. One morning there were mini scones but they were as hard as a rock.

The beach was pleasant with good views of Mackinaw Island. That was about the only good thing about our stay, oh and it was cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin_Tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed here for one night but never again! 4 of us staying in a room with 2 queen beds. Asked for hangers to hang up our motorcycle jackets. Came back a couple hours later with one little clip hanger stating they couldn't find any more. We had just checked in (approx 4:30 pm) and were told that if we wanted anything else in our room, we would have to let them know by 5 pm because after that time there was no one there to help us with anything. After settling into our room, we noticed the toilet flushing was very sluggish.. became plugged. When we reported the toilet the next morning, we were told that someone actually was available until 1 am and we should have let them know. There was only a door knob lock on the door. No deadbolt or chain. Rooms dirty and could use a good cleaning. It does have a small beach. Plastic chairs were broken. We were told that the owners have 14 places in the area.
It felt like the people running the place could care less if they had return customers, unfriendly. We go to the Mackinaw area several times during the summer but will definitely avoid this group of motels on Hwy 23!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at this location!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank leeka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I have an upcoming stay here but am dreading it. Have stayed here many times over the years and such nice owners. Think there are new owners. SO unfriendly, SO unaccomadating. They hung up on me telling me I was rude when I was just questioning room rates. I ask for the owner and they tell me they don't know who owns it?????

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wmcj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Our family had a great vacation at this motel. It wasn't anything fancy. It was clean and served the purpose it needed to. We stayed 4 nights. It is an older motel so no fancy stuff. Yes the continental breakfast was at the next hotel over which is super close. You do only get some bread and bagels that you can toast. There are some muffins and coffee. Not a big choice, but they don't have to give anything. The pool and spa are 2 motels over where you also check in. We never even went to it since our motel was right next to the lake with a private back. On July 4th we could see fireworks from all over. The only real compliant I have is the air conditioners could be updated. They are old and took all day to get it really comfortable and it was loud.. Other that that this motel was just fine. I didn't want to pay for a big fancy hotel to sleep in. Gave me more money to spend out and about. I loved my vacation.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Motel advertises indoor/outdoor pool, hot tub/spa and continental breakfast. These amenities are not located at this establishment, however they will direct you down the street approx. 1/4 mile to one of there other motels. I called booking.com to cancel my reservation was put on hold for approx. 40 mins. After explaining the situation was emailed and asked to take pictures of what I found at this establishment. I don't believe this is my responsibility, I was more concerned about finding another place on holiday weekend on such a short notice.. At 6:00pm (more than three hours later) I received a call from the hotel stating they were just notified by Booking that there was a problem. The woman on the phone was very persistent trying to find out where I had found a place to stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank wallacesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews