We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 31 days here. It was fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

It was a clean room, breakfast was fine, though you sort of get sick of eating the same thing for breakfast everyday, but it's all good. They can't really help that.

My main concern was with front desk staff. They could really give Brittany, the front desk supervisor of their location in Fort Lauderdale, FL a call. She could give them some pointers on how to make guest feel more comfortable on longer stays.

Room Tip: I wouldn't spend my own money to stay here.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2017

The rooms were nice, the staff friendly, the breakfast good, but I have to give the hotel a poor rating because they did not honor our room request. My group was attending the UKC dog show sand staying for almost a week. Knowing that the hotel would be fully booked, I made the group reservation in September 2016 for a June 2017 stay: for 10 rooms on the ground floor. The ground floor preference was stated on the contract and each of us asked again for this when we made our individual reservations. As it turned out, only 1 member of our group received a ground floor room and she only had 1 dog. The rest of us with 3-4 dogs were schlepping dogs and crates up and down elevators all week. Worse than this, one member of our group wanted to bring her elderly parents who have some health issues. She decided that a special-access room was not necessary because she booked a ground floor room. They were placed on the third floor!!!!! And as observant Jews they couldn't use the elevators on the sabbath. When I brought this to the attention of the booking staff, all I got was a 'sorry'. Needless to say, we won't be back.

I should also mention that there were some noisy groups there. We were hesitant to complain because people were tolerant of occasional barks by our dogs. However group members witnessed one nude young man in the hall in the middle of the night, and one also had a crude drawing slipped at random under the door. Clearly the chaperones of the young men were not doing their job.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee66047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSKZOOGM, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Hello Lee66047,

Thank you for attending the Kalamazoo UKC premier dog show event and staying with us. I am so very sorry we could not accommodate your groups room location request and the inconveniences it caused everyone. I can understand the difficulties this caused, we did our best to accommodate for the very busy weekend event with an estimated attendance of 25,000 people. We are an extended stay hotel a large percentage of our ground floor rooms were occupied by guests staying from 3 months to a year with pets. As a very pet friendly hotel we do our very best to accommodate all on ground floor and also our pet policy states a maximum of 2 pets per room.

Thank you for the kind words about our amazing team who welcome all with a smile and a housekeeping team members who do an outstanding job.

We again sincerely apologize and wish you a great day :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

This is a wonderful place to spend time while in Kalamazoo, Michigan. It is clean and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful. They are not profuse, but adequate as I came for the dog show and there was plenty of space to walk my dogs. They even provide premium dog poop bags to use! The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and the kitchenette was very helpful. It is fairly priced and a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

I only chose this hotel because I needed a place that would let me have my dogs for the night. I chose a 2 Queen Suite. Room 103 was perfect because it was right by the end door. It allowed me to take dogs out and also be at the end of the hall so less noise.

We heard one other dog once which set off a bit of barking but never heard any other pet noises the whole night. Thermostat allows for constant fan which is a big deal to me because I like some ambient noise to block out other hotel noises. It was a very quiet hotel.

Cracker Barrel is next door and so is the highway so the location is very convenient. Morning breakfast was typical. Staff is very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable, showing some signs of wear but not bad. Closet space is great and kitchen is adequately equipped. Bathroom is small but sufficient.

I've never stayed at this particular brand of hotel but I was happy with stay and would do it again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sweetiebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Located right off I-94, which was very close to the conference I was attending. Many other people were staying there for the same reason. Plenty of food in the morning at the continental breakfast. Bathroom a bit small, but that doesn't bother me. Reception was very kind, we had no problems. Got a quiet and good nights sleep. Room was clean and no funky smells.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dpeshl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
10.0 km away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Kalamazoo Suites
12.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo

Address: 5683 S 9th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-4424
Region: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range: €100 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott offers extended stay travelers a comfortable home away from home, with features like full stainless kitchens, seperate bedrooms, 24 hour exercise facilities , 24 hour convenience mart, the Marriott Bed package, indoor heated pool, and deluxe continental breakfast. We are right on interstate 1-94 at exit 72 on the west side of Kalamazoo and recently opened 10/07. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Kalamazoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Kalamazoo Hotel Kalamazoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing