We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Host Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Short notice trip planned to go skiing at Norway Mountain Ski Area and needed a room for Saturday night. Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to give Mountain Host a try. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel this is not it, but they offer 5 star friendly service and cleanliness. It is not a huge franchise hotel, but privately owned. The Inn is older, appealing and appears to be well maintained. The entrance was clean and the front desk clerk upon arrival was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean (priority 1), simply decorated, cozy, comfortable, quite and very affordable. Those qualities are more important to me than being able to say "I stayed at a 5 star property". There is not much for breakfast, coffee and donuts, but we are OK with that. I would rather bring my own breakfast items and pay a reasonable room rate than pay an outrageous room rate for a mediocre hotel with a "Free continental breakfast". If/when we get back there we will definitely stay there again. Just a note, the Inn is for sale. It's a great area. Lots of outdoor activities throughout the whole year that draws people to the area. If I were younger I would definitely be tempted to give the hospitality industry a try.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Thank you so much for the feedback. We are happy you found your stay clean and comfortable. We strive to make each of our guests stays as best as possible. We look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I was looking for a clean cheap hotel for a single night stay and this hotel delivered. Room was clean, good location and easy to find. Staff was very friendly.

The site has nice exercise room with Sauna and room had a mini fridge and old microwave (no extra charge).

Cons:
Continental Breakfast was bread, cake donuts, corn flakes, frosted wheats, coffee, milk, & OJ. No fruit, bagels, hot cereal, waffles, or hot tea.

Would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank punikin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate it. We are happy you found your stay clean and comfortable. We hope to help you with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is definitely a budget hotel which we stopped at on our way to Appleton, WI. It was pretty spare, but with an incredible price of $65. I think Veterans pay $45. The best part though, was learning about the service this motel provides to our Veterans receiving services at the VA hospital in Iron Mountain. Limited breakfast but lots of camaraderie among the guests in the eating area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100nitesperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. We love and respect our Veterans. We have quite a revolving door with many of them. We strive to take the best care of all of our patrons and guests. We hope to help you with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This is a budget motel where we paid $49 a night, tax included. For that we got a nice relatively new room that was very clean and quiet and a bed that was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The breakfast is very basic, but the breakfast area is nice. Do what we do and bring most of our own healthy food to supplement what these hotels offer. So for the price, we thought we were treated fairly. Ask for a room on the backside to avoid the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

John,
We appreciate your feedback. We appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you found your stay with us clean, and comfortable. We strive to make all of our guests happy. We hope to help you with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We have stayed here several time nice rooms and beds Not much of a breakfast but for the price can't complain best to reserve through the front desk can save a few dollars rather than through the online way. close places to eat and places to shop so overall good place to stay would stay again

Room Tip: book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connie g, Manager at Mountain Host Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Larry, I would like to say thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it. I am glad you found your stay with us comfortable. We thank you for your continued patronage. We hope to help you soon with your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iron Mountain hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Iron Mountain
73 reviews
1.1 km away
Days Inn Iron Mountain
Days Inn Iron Mountain
#4 of 11 in Iron Mountain
321 reviews
3.2 km away
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
Budget Host Inn Iron Mountain
#6 of 11 in Iron Mountain
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Iron Mountain
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Iron Mountain
81 reviews
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Iron Mountain, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Host Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Host Motor Inn

Address: 1451 S Stephenson Ave, Iron Mountain, MI 49801-4145
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Iron Mountain
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Iron Mountain
Price Range: €45 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Host Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Iron Mountain, this inn is 0.9 mi (1.5 km) from Millie Mine Bat Viewing Site and 1.5 mi (2.5 km) from World War II Glider and Military Museum. Pine Mountain and Timberstone Golf Course are also within 6 mi (10 km). This inn features a 24-hour fitness center, a sauna, and a meeting room. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, and free self parking are also provided. A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning between 7 AM and 10 AM. Recreational amenities at the inn include a sauna, 24-hour fitness center, and 24 hour tanning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Host Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Host Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing