We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie options ”

On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #56 of 269 Restaurants in Holland
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Every day at 8 a.m., we start chopping veggies, soaking beans, and prepping our mesquite-fired grill. Not because we have to, but because we believe in delicious flavors made-to-order, from hand-rolled enchiladas to our sizzling fajitas to guacamole made right at your table. Everything pairs nicely with a grande margarita, and of course, enjoy the always endless chips and salsa.
Restaurant details
Description: Every day at 8 a.m., we start chopping veggies, soaking beans, and prepping our mesquite-fired grill. Not because we have to, but because we believe in delicious flavors made-to-order, from hand-rolled enchiladas to our sizzling fajitas to guacamole made right at your table. Everything pairs nicely with a grande margarita, and of course, enjoy the always endless chips and salsa.
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Nice Mexican place with freshly made dishes. The menu offers veggie options that are very good. I had a live guacamole and quesadilla style something.
I’ll come back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank The-Veggie-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Our service here was good. We got chips and salsa immediately after being seated as well as water. However we ordered the chicken and steak fajitas and they were not good at all. All the meat seemed to taste like fish and it was not good. We also got guacamole and it was not impressive- it tasted like mashed avocado.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BriannaNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The food was outstanding, and the service above average. Our entire family enjoys this place due to the wide variety of selections available.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

When this location first opened it had the worst service. It was always so slow and inaccurate that, after about 4-5 times, we gave up even though we loved the menu.

After about a year we had a gift card, so we decided to try it again. We were pleasantly surprised that things had turned around. We started going there frequently for about a year again (2-3 times a month) and even went so far as to complement the manager on how things had turned around. She was very appreciative of our comment and said they’d been working hard to make things better.

Sadly, it’s back to being a flop. The service has gotten slower again, our orders have been wrong a few times and a while back they were randomly and mysteriously closed on a Friday night for no reason.

Today we tried to go for lunch. When we arrived it wasn’t busy and we were prompted seated by the friendly hostess. After just a couple of minutes a girl brought out chips and salsa and told us that our server would be right with us and that she was with another table. No problem! Well...it turned into a problem. There were a lot of servers walking around, but after almost 20 minutes, no one had come. We weren’t sure WHO was supposed to be our server, but one of them must have been. None appeared overly busy, a few were congregated outside the kitchen most of the time. The restaurant was probably only 1/4 full. A manager (I assume...he had an earpiece in) was walking around and he never took notice of us still sitting there with our menus and no drinks either, even though we were looking around with an ‘um, hello?’ look on our faces. We finally got up and walked out. At the door the hostess thanked us for coming in and we told her that no server had even come to our table. I offered to pay for the half a basket of (complimentary) chips we had eaten so we didn’t look like dine n’ dashers. She just waved me off and said she was sorry. We ended up going home and making sandwiches. Thanks for saving us probably $50 on lunch and drinks. No more OTB meals for us.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Crazy4Pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The service here is great but he fare is just OK. I had a Chimichanga and it was soooo hot (temperature) that it singed my tongue. I let it cool some more (10 minutes) and it was still way too hot to eat. It was also mushy and not what a chimi should be. It was really just average food. We had fajitas for 2 the week before and they had a lot of gristle in the meat. They also were just average at best.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Willam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

Holland, Ottawa County
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 
Holland, Ottawa County
 

Been to On the Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing