We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birchwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Of Harbor Springs(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boyne Highlands Resort(Harbor Springs)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stafford's Perry Hotel(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Inn Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apple Tree Inn(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
US$121
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Petoskey(Petoskey)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
22
33
22
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
33
22
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastnorthern michiganlocation is beautifulgreat roombaby boomerhorse farmsmodern hotelworking orderfire pitmini fridgeneeded a place to stayrustic lodgeyogurtlarge roommain buildingboyne highlandsbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped for dinner in Harbor Springs and decided we were done for the night. So with the help of Trip Advisor we found this great little place only 3 miles outside of town. First perk, is it is literally on the Tunnel of Trees (M119). Second the price was great, especially for the area. Third, it is just an awesome vintage resort that is well maintained. The decor in the main building is locked in the time of the 50'/ 60's and yet feels welcoming. It's not perfect, but clean, comfortable and very dog friendly. There is a simple breakfast waiting for you in the lobby with very kind and helpful staff. It's not the place to find all sorts of modern amenities, but it's full of character, warm showers and clean beds.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BWildandFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Service and staff are great! Clean and comfortable and breakfast is good although somewhat limited selections. 50s vintage bath with lots of hot water. Autumn colors are spectacular and this location is at the start of the tunnel of trees drive. The adjacent horse farms add beautiful views.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Very relaxing place on the Tunnel of Trees route. Innkeeper and staff are very friendly and helpful. Small but adequate breakfast. Our room was 50's vintage and very clean, but with a faint cigarette smell from years past. The views are beautiful, surrounded by white fenced horse pastures and trees. I'd visit again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

The place was built in the 50's, and not much has changed since, pink tiled bathroom, paneled walls, etc. My partner didn't much care for the ambiance, but I thought it funky and neat. Service very friendly and helpful, the rate was great, especially during high season in the Petoskey area. Slightly out of the way, but by just a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rikku00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Visiting my number one son at his summer job in Harbor Springs, we needed a place to stay for the weekend. There was some artsy music festival going on so rooms where at a premium. Add to the search we needed pet friendly for our favorite mutt. Haven driven by the Birchwood Inn in the past and remembered it looked nice from the road. So I called and booked a family suite. Two queen beds and a fold out couch.

The hotel built in 1959 ish is well maintained. There is a up north charm to the place that transcends some of the dated fixtures in the room. The lobby is pure Michigan, the rooms have a clean sheets and towels and nice furniture.

There was a slight musty smell but nothing terrible and like the previous review I read there was an issue with water temps in the shower. The girls complained but I did not notice it.

We knew this was not a JW Marriott so we just rolled with it. From the quality of the wood windows I'll bet this was one of the nicest hotels in the area for many years!!!
Breakfast was a lite continental perfect for getting started. There are so many little shops in town to grab breakfast also!

The pool was clean and deep. Just wish hotels could still have
diving boards!

There was a fire pit at night; several of the guests sat around singing artsy, folksy songs.......it was folksy! They were original songs! I knew some John Denver songs but kept that to myself. No need to scare strangers.


I'd stay here again if in the area!


Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews