We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up North Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodland Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We wanted something out of the way and off the beaten path. Woodland Motor Lodge fit the bill. We checked in after 7. The owner was there at the desk ready to help and answer any questions. She told us it was a family business and her son often helped at the desk after my traveling companion noticed the high tech mouse she was using. She said he worked the desk and played video games when it was slow. We thought that was a great idea.
The room was spacious and clean. It had two double beds, one in a cove across from the front door and the other on the wall to the right of the front door. We liked that because it is often uncomfortable sleeping in a bed right beside a co worker. It felt like we each had our own space.
The room contained a mini fridge, a microwave, coffee maker and supplies, a table with two chairs, one long dresser with the television on top and a tall dresser beside the bathroom. With all the furniture in the room, it was still very comfortable to walk around in. The bathroom had more than the normal amenities.
Outside the room was a picnic area and fire pit that we would have enjoyed if not for the rain. The Woodland Motor Lodge looked like a very nice place to spend a week Up North. It is a large place with a couple of single level buildings of rooms.
We were not far from the town of Grayling where there were plenty of places to eat. My companion and I choose to go to the grocery store and buy dinner and breakfast for the next morning. We did not inquire about breakfast in the Office because we would be leaving so early the next day.
I recommend the Woodland Motor Lodge to anyone that would like a nice quiet vacation in Grayling. It was very close to the Hartwick Pines State Park. Go and have fun discovering Michigan, then come back to a nice quiet motor lodge.

Room Tip: Room in the back of the motor lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Been staying here for 13 years for our annual fly fishing trips. Always clean. Always accommodating. Great value. Owners and staff will take care of your needs and provide advice on new area restaurants and attractions. Refrigerators and microwaves in each room. Free high speed internet.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank JEP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My wife loves to see the fall colors. Due to a slew of issues, we weren't able to get a jump on reserving a room early and the Woodland was about our only option. And as options go, it wasn't half bad. The owners are nice and accommodating. The price per pet -- $5 -- is more than reasonable. The room was huge. Look, it's not the Ritz, but it's affordable, clean, spacious and located near enough that it doesn't take a day and a half to get anywhere one might want to see the colors. I'd recommend the Woodland in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I hadn't planned on staying in Grayling but decided to stop driving after it got dark. Based on the reviews I stopped by Woodland for a room. I got room 21 which was not on the highway but located behind the building on the highway and one of the rooms closest to that building. I did hear an occasional truck on the highway but nothing awful.

The owner seemed really nice and I was shocked by the comfort and quality of the bed, pillows and sheets. The decor is rustic, which was to be expected. The refrigerator was another nice surprise along with a good selection of cable channels. The bathroom was dated but in a charming way and there was plenty of hot water. It was also immaculate which is something I never expect from a motel like this.

The window heating unit was super powerful and heated up the room quite quickly. Only problem was it was very, very loud. Like had to turn the tv all the way up to hear it loud. So I had turn the heat off after it woke me up twice by kicking on overnight. Once the heat wasn't running, I realized I could hear my neighbor's tv in the evening and some of their moving around in the morning. Not a deal breaker but something to keep in mind if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabinebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed in Cabin 32 for two nights starting last Sunday based on other TripAdvisor reviews. It definitely met our expectations. Very very clean, comfortable beds, and a nice hot shower. Couldn't ask for anything more. We had two dogs with us and it was very convenient for them because they could just go right outside. Small deck on the back of the cabin, doesn't have much of a view right now because it looked like there was some construction work going on in the lot next door, but still very nice. The owner was very friendly and walked us around the grounds when we first got there to show us where everything was. She even offered to come out and help us build a bonfire if we had any problems! We had originally planned on only staying one night and then driving further north to see the fall colors, but loved this place so much that we stayed the extra night. Large TV in the living room and both bedrooms also had televisions. Very clean kitchen that was stocked with dishes, pots, pans, and utensils. Bathroom was also super clean and had very good water pressure in the shower. Also a good value for the money, it ended up costing us less for 4 people than two separate rooms at a motel would have. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are renting a cabin, ask for #32. It's a little more secluded than the other one (#19)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kimm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grayling
9 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
400 reviews
3.8 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
38.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
510 reviews
3.4 km away
Motel 72
Motel 72
#4 of 9 in Grayling
38 reviews
22.2 km away
Waters Inn
Waters Inn
#2 of 15 in Gaylord
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motor Lodge

Address: 267 S. I-75 Business Loop, Grayling, MI 49738
Region: United States > Michigan > Crawford County > Grayling
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grayling
Price Range: €59 - €72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodland Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, friendly family-owned and operated motel, cabins, and snowmobiling facility in the heart of the Northern Michigan Woods. We continue to operate the Woodland Motor Lodge as a clean, quiet family motel that has served its customers well for over forty years. We have many repeat customers, and we make many new friends every season. We are located centrally to outdoor activities including canoeing, fishing, skiing, and snowmobiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodland Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing