We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel Just Off The Main Highway”
Review of Lakeside Motor Inn

Lakeside Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gladstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The Lakeside Motor Inn is just off US 2 & 41 but a little hard to get to. The rooms are big with large bathrooms but could use a little freshening up as the room I was in needed fresh paint and some repairs done to it. The room was fairly quiet, but being so close to the highway, there was a lot of noise from the trucks using jake brakes to stop at the light just across the street. I had a room facing the highway so the noise was that much worse. Throw in the rail yard right there too with the trains blowing their horns and moving cars half the night and you can get a lot of noise. If you plan on staying here I would suggest getting a room on the back side as it would be much quieter.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I did sleep well when all the racket settled down for the night. The staff is very pleasant and will go out of their way to do anything for you or get anything you need. The price was great, sure can't complain about that. There is a Subway right next door, a McDonald's right in back so two places that you can walk to to grab a bite to eat. There is a light breakfast of oatmeal, donuts, juice and Trenary Toast for breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the motel to lessen some of the road and rail yard noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Rooms were clean and plenty of room. We were in a king suite with a corner hot tub. Shower didn't have a light in it , so it was dark . The bed was terrible. My fiancé weighs in at 114 and I'm 200 . We were both sore the whole trip. Overall I would recommend this hotel , just don't sleep there .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mattyn1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

While road tripping through the UP we were in need of a last minute hotel and we happened to call Lakeside Motor Inn just at the right moment. With one room left, they took our reservation and were super friendly. The rooms were were clean, the AC was cool, the WiFi worked great. The breakfast options weren't much but if your looking for a cup of joe and a little doughnut you're in luck. Great place to stop along the way and rest your head.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank AKK424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We called on a very busy Friday night after our reservations at another motel were given away. The firecracker at the front desk was juggling call-ins, walk-ins, and reservations with wit, humor, and genuine friendliness.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable, but no Hilton. But, it also doesn't carry a Hilton price tag. The building is in pretty good shape, but there are some quirks. But, if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep after a day exploring the US, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here while coming from the North. Updated on the outside. I side needing some updates with older beds and comforters. Bring your own pillows they have 2 on each bed and they are the older foam style. Rooms were clean and large. Nice location with Subway in the parking lot and McDonald's just down the street. If you need a quick, good priced place to stay this would be a decent choice. If you want something fancy this would be the place for you. Breakfast was coffe, juice, milk, instant oatmeal and store doughnuts. The gal working the desk was friendly and appears to be the only one working and doing everything but she did a good job!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank JulieBandSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
7.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Escanaba
11.1 km away
Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn and Suites
4 km away
Terrace Bay Hotel
Terrace Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gladstone
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
Sunset Lodge Escanaba
#1 of 10 in Escanaba
879 reviews
0.1 km away
Adoba Hotel Gladstone
Adoba Hotel Gladstone
#1 of 5 in Gladstone
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Motor Inn

Address: 26 Lowrie Ave, Gladstone, MI 49837-2013
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Gladstone
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: €44 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our rooms have cable TV, phones, A/C and Wi-Fi. We offer smoking and non-smoking rooms. With affordable rates, easy parking, and exceptionally clean rooms, you will see why our new establishment has become Gladstone's first choice for lodging accommodations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing