We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
30
40
47
43
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
40
47
43
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoung womanhave stayed here several timesclean towelshouse keepingreception desknew carpetingindoor poolbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We travel to our home in Wi every year and decided to go over the top this trip. This place is convenient to our time frame--unfortunately it is very outdated and hasn't improved at all-despite having several newer motels as competition. We paid $139 which was way too much. First impression was the entrance --dirty and the door was full of fingerprints. Front desk person was new and not familiar with the area. Rooms have not been upgraded in a long time and you could tell it is a place where all the construction workers stay -alot of them standing outside smoking. I think if it was in the $60/$70 range I wouldn't think it was so bad but this was definitely not worth $139.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

The Quality Inn in Gaylord has had other iterations. The building predates Michigans no smoking in buildings law. Areas of the building that had smoking still have the scent that I associate with old smoke. I did see workers laying new carpeting and assembling new beds.

The breakfast room is on the smaller side and the television's sound permeates the room. If you are not a fan of FOX News you may wish to skip breakfast or take it to your room.

The beds are comfortable and some furnishings are dated. I thought the lighting was up-to-date. As with older structures the bathrooms are a little smaller.

The young man staffing the desk at check in was pleasant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

First off, when we arrived to the hotel, you could tell it was very old from the outside and was not in the vest condition. We were given a second story suite, and we learned there is no elevator, which was not previously mentioned. My aunt has lung, leg, and back issues, so walking up and down the stairs was difficult for her. The carpet in the hallway outside our room was dirty and you could tell it had not been cleaned in a long time. Our room was very filthy, with urine stains on the toilet, stains on the bed duvets, and a sticky kitchen floor with hardened food stuck to it. The refrigerator also dripped terribly when you opened the door, and water got all over the shelves and floor. There was only one A/C unit, and it was in the second room, so we were unable to shut the door dividing the rooms because it got way too hot. One reason we chose this hotel was because of the pool and spa, and when we tried to use the facility, the hot tub was not working. Reading other reviews, we realized that the hot tub has not been functioning for quite some time. There was a lot of renovations going on, which is not a problem, but we were woken in the middle of the night by pounding on the other side of the wall. The only good thing about our stay was the size of the suite. Besides that, we had a terrible experience and it was NOT worth the $200+ we paid per night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shelby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

It was way over priced for the amenities; $130. The place is a bit old and very tired. Real low quality person at the front desk. AC unit was caked with dirt and dust! Breakfast was okay, but the room was not clean at all..

Room Tip: Unless it is the last available room, do not check in!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This was not the first place we tried to stay in Gaylord, but the others were sold out, so we ended up here. This would not be my 1st choice, were we to return, but it wasn't so terribly bad, either. The place could use a refresh. However, it was clean and the beds were satisfactory. The breakfast area had a variety of hot and cold items. The staff is all wonderful - professional, friendly, helpful. The woman at the front desk was extremely accommodating; the young man at the desk in the AM (I went down about 6:00 AM to read in the lobby) was very friendly and really loves his job. The woman helping with the breakfast made sure everything was ok and that there weren't empty serving dishes. If the place was just spruced up a bit - paint and new carpet - it could be amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews