We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
7
6
9
6
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
6
9
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the wood fired pizza under new ownership the king size bed wonderful stay holiday inn express indoor pool snowmobile
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We booked this two months in advance. We had stayed here several years ago and thought this would be a good place to stay. When we arrived about 5 pm, our room wasn't ready yet so we had to wait while they finished cleaning it. In the meantime, 6 other rooms were ready when guests came in. (While we were left waiting) When we got to the room the tv didn't work. Back to the desk again to wait in line again. They send someone with us to check the tv. He agrees that it doesn't work and goes to get another tv. 20 minutes later and this tv is connected and still doesn't work. Back to the desk again. This time they got real rude so we requested a refund and left. Room was very outdated and dirty. Arms on the leisure chair were worn and nasty. I do not recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Live-n-love14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at American Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

I apologize you had to wait to check in. The other guests that got in ahead of you probably had different room types than you had and that is why others were checked in before you. I'm sorry we didn't have the room type you had requested when you arrived. The staff issues have been addressed and we have been having difficulty with our cable since they have been working on it in the area. It has made our channels very fuzzy and we are working on the problem. We are in the process of updating our furniture and rooms as we just acquired the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge because it was priced right. We found out after we arrived that it does need updates but for the price it was ok. The rooms were very quiet and the beds were so so. The room we were in smelled musty and lacked electrical outlets that worked to plug in phones. The floors are laminated wood which looked almost new but no carpeting in the rooms. There is a large pool and a hot tub that is enclosed but the noise did not bother us. Handicap people beware there are NO ELEVATORS at this place. Breakfast is included but the days we were there, they ran out of syrup for the waffles, only had one kind of jelly for the toast and eggs were tasteless. For the price it really wasn't that bad.

Room Tip: No elevators here
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadmap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at American Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us here at the American Alpine Lodge. We recently acquired to property and have been doing updates throughout the building including the rooms. We do have extension cords upon request for use in the rooms. The breakfast issues have been addressed with the kitchen staff. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Best priced hotel in town but price isn't everything. This is an old hotel that used to be a Holiday Inn and it's in need of updating throughout. They have made attempts to do some updating such as bathroom floors, paint, Etc. Much of the hotel is quite a relic from the past. The pool is actually quite nice and has a good size hot tub and a sauna. Rooms are generally clean although we did find that one of our bed sheets had some debris on it, including a hair. It probably just wasn't washed properly. They did bring us up a new set of sheets after repeated calls. The rooms are good size, and the beds are comfortable. There's also a refrigerator freezer in the room. Although the price was cheaper on Expedia by around $50, still the hotel room at $103 was a bit pricey for the condition and age of the place. If you're just looking for a cheaper place to stay overnight it's really ok and the pool is probably the best part of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express down the street wanted $200 a night plus tax. That is outrageous for a Holiday Inn Express no matter how nice it is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Johnnyviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at American Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are doing our best to get the updates needed as quickly as possible. I hope you like the renovations we have made thus far. The staff are diligently working to get things done as quickly as possible but in a quality manor. I hope you will choose to stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

I didn't read any reviews on this hotel until after I booked it. Then I got a little worried based on all the bad reviews. This hotel wasn't anything special but it wasn't horrible either. The room was clean but the hallways needed vacuuming. The furniture and bedspreads were outdated but not dirty and I didn't find any bugs. This hotel is obviously old and in desperate need of lots of updating and TLC but we gave it a chance. The best part was the pool, hot tub and sauna! The staff was friendly. The breakfast was okay but there were so many people there when we were there that they kept running low of food. The room had a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, good air conditioning, mini fridge, microwave and comfortable beds. The pillows were really squishy though! It wasn't horrible to stay at like so many have commented. My hubby was happy with the price and my daughter was happy with the pool and small play area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deniseabauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at American Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We have been working diligently on renovations. It is difficult when there are so many things that need to be done but rest assured our customer satisfaction is our priority. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the pool and hot tub while you were here. We hope to see you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We have to run up north every few weeks for some business as we are building a vacation home, so we just need some place to crash. We get up north late at night after a full day's work and then are out early the next morning.

Like several places in the Grayling/Gaylord area, this place could use an upgrade. It had a bed, but the bedspread was pretty nasty. The shower/tub combo had several rust spots and the sink needed a good snake to get some drainage going. The room also had a chair that would be used around a dinner table and a pretty old coffee table pushed against a wall as "their furniture." However, the king size bed was fairly comfortable.

I doubt my wife would ok another stay here, but for $53 you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon M, Manager at American Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We value your input and your issues have been addressed. We are in the process of getting new furniture and replacing the linens. We are also in the process of refinishing the tubs. We hope you will choose us again for your next stay in Gaylord.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews