We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fleischer's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Voss Extreme(Vossevangen)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
122
157
98
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
157
98
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrailway stationdining roomhistoric hotelnutshell tourbreakfast buffetoverlooking the lakeold stylestayed two nightsfriendly helpful stafftrain linelocated rightmain roadday tripnice bartea and coffeeold buildingpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

It's true the hotel is old but it is charming and full of character. We stayed on a group tour and had a room overlooking the lake which is a must - the view is stunning. The room was very large, the beds comfortable and the bathroom and shower good. We had a buffet breakfast and dinner both of which were delicious with plenty of choice. This hotel is perfectly placed next to the train line from Oslo to Bergen. We enjoyed our stay here and there is so much to do in the locality.

Room Tip: Higher floor overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Although we did not stay overnight, we spent enough time there to at least give an opinion. This looks like a classic old gem that is well
Preserved. It is immaculate from top to bottom and has period decor to give it a classic ambience. The grounds and views are beautiful and it looks like a good place to stay and just chill.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank JordanS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Checked in on 5/28/17. Professional reviews have characterized the property as past its prime. True, the property has history, but is is well maintained and clean. We sat on the veranda overlooking the lake with wine and cheese board. Our hotel room shows it age, but it has been updated with plenty of electrical outlets. Good pressure in the water shower. The windows swing out completely. We slept well. Breakfast was good. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff puts is over top. Special thanks to Inga for helping us get our clothes cleaned. Nice that it is 100m from the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floydla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

After reading many reviews we decided to stay at this hotel for three nights. What a disappointment. First, upon arrival we were told by the receptionist that the rooms are guaranteed for a three o'clock check-in. I stated that that would be fine after the first time I was told. I'm not certain why she felt the need to tell me two more times. One day we were told that the coffee in the bar area was to be paid for at the bar, that it was not complimentary by a very abrupt speaking receptionist. I had read in reviews that it was complimentary and other guests told us they had not paid. It was more about how I was spoken to rather than the cost or no cost of the coffee. There was no one to be seen in the dining room at breakfast if you had questions or requests. Also, the food was not replenished so we were out of luck if we did not arrive when the doors first opened in the morning. Also, the food was cold and the coffee machines never seemed to be working. Had we know what the hotel was really like, we would have returned to Oslo instead of making the stop in Voss.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the waterfront.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stopped in Voss for 3 days to break our 'Norway In A Nutshell' train journey from Oslo to Bergen. Hotel is right on the railway. Step off and straight into reception. Voss is quaint and small, right on the shores of Vangsvatnet Lake. Breathtakingly beautiful. Being a 19th Century building it has its quirks in layout and age but all this can be forgiven for service and style and staying in an historic building. Our room was large and well appointed except for the tea and coffee making facilities being on a tiny shelf on the wall nowhere near a power point. No data points either and limited television. WiFi spasmodic but it's really about unplugging in Voss and enjoying it. Beds were super comfortable and decor tasteful. Wardrobe and bathroom could do with a refurb but everything worked. It may be that some of these features cannot be updated due to its historic listing. Dinner in the buffet dining room offered a wide array of choices but the stand out was their al a carte restaurant - superb! If you want total relaxation and lovely walks around the lake then Fleischer's in Voss is worth a few days. Tip - ask for rooms facing the lake. At the back is the railway. Also, the attic rooms have very limited headroom for obvious reasons. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Request front facing rooms overlooking the lake. Attic rooms headroom very low. Back rooms face onto the railway.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews