We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
45
26
19
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
26
19
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley pro shop two story gathering room play cards saw deer two nights pins restaurant day bed queen bed great room off road volleyball court northern michigan bathroom door first floor domino's pizza
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I purchased Group Golfer vouchers this year somewhat reluctantly. While we loved the golf course layout, we had been disappointed with the conditions two years ago. What a turn-around!!! Fairways, greens and even bunkers were immaculate. We played 36 holes in just under 6 hours, and had the course basically to ourselves. This will change once the word gets out about how good this golf course has become. Kudos to the new management team.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

So happy you decided to give us another chance and share your experience! New ownership is committed to the golf course 100% and we are thrilled to read reviews such as yours. This commitment is ongoing and we look forward to many return guests enjoying a round or two at The Rock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We played The Rock two years ago and were disappointed with its condition. It is now in immaculate shape. We played 36 holes without ever having a poor lie. The greens are true and fairly quick. We were housed in an updated room; much better than our previous experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thorneloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope you will be back in 2018. The hotel also saw many updates, and much like The Rock, these efforts are ongoing to provide the best stay possible for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The Drummond Island Resort is an experience. Getting There: Lower Michigan residents cross the "Mighty Mac" bridge to enter God's Country The Upper Penninsula. You cross over the Straits of Mackinaw with beautiful vistas and sometimes freighters beneath you. Then proceed to the Village of Detour and line up for the ferry. We were rewarded with up close crossing of the James A Barker Freighter before boarding! Ferry Senior citizen rate is half price for round trip. So total of $8 for car and two passengers. On the passage over there is a lighthouse in the channel and a working quarry- again viewed another freighter loading! Disembark the ferry and drive the 13 miles to the resort. You will pass Four Cornors, a reference point on the Island. Also, if you have a Verizon phone, this is the last spot that you will have service. The Island is wooded and rural. Watch closely for wildlife and know that you are in for a true get away experience. The Lodge: Built by Tom Manighan (Domino's Pizza Magnet and Tiger Baseball Team owner) in the 1980's as a retreat for for his employees and players. The lodge was fashioned after a sawmill on the site. It is rustic, spartan and classic. It is a two story wood and corregated metal structure. We were told the 40 room Lodge has some rooms individually owned and others that visitors stay in. Rooms have plank floors well scarred by golf shoe spikes and large log furniture. Our spacious room had a king sized bed and futon. Air conditioning and heat is provided by wall unit. There is an overhead fan (ours didn't work). Upstairs there is a Gathering Room, with a fireplace and comfortable furniture. A great spot for sharing a glass of wine, snacks and conversation with friends. This cozy spot has a kitchen with microwave, fridge and toaster oven. It has numerous separate group seating areas. Our group passed a pleasant evening in the charming setting. What to Do: Included in your stay is free kayak and bicycle usage. I took advantage of biking while awaiting our friend's arrival. It was a hilly ride on the paved trail to the golf course which is 1.2 miles behind the Lodge. (The Lodge sits by itself..I found it odd that Monaghan chose not to build on water nor the golf course). The Pins, which is a bowling alley and light Eats was closed for renovation during our stay. Also closed was an upscale restaurant. Walking and abundant wildlife was wonderful! We saw deer, small red squirrels and a variety of birds, woodcocks, ducks and canadian geese. Our group came to enjoy the golfing. The Rock: A challenging course. Our friends take advantage of numerous vouchers and play courses throughout Michigan. Mike said "The Rock is the most challenging"! My dear Husband said that he lost more balls at The Rock, then he has in the last two years. Us Girls picked up our balls at times to keep play moving along. But all four of us agreed the course was in great condition, so very scenic and breath taking to have numerous deer sightings. We visited in August, the Halfway House (rest rooms) closed, no cart service nor employees to help load clubs. Cart seats were wet. Conclusion: A total experience! While on this island, also take time to see the unique Alvar ecosystem and museum. Drive around. Enjoy the local restaurants (Northwoods excellent) and the residents who call Drummond Island home. And most of all relax, let the world go by and enjoy the rustic remoteness of the Drummond Island Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room on side with a pond. Avoid behind pool rooms as faces fence.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UPprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share the details and review of our resort. Happy to hear your enjoyed our amenities and The Rock Golf Course. Our newly renovated Pins Bar & Grill opened last fall and we are eager to share it with our guests in 2018. We are committed to providing improved training in 2018, and apologize your cart was not wiped from dew and you were not greeted by a cart attendant. Late summers do offer a bigger challenge during our slower days, as our college students depart the island for fall semester by that time. We will do our best to provide improved service with a smile in 2018 and hope you consider a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Rooms and grounds were very clean and spacious.

Disappointed that the one restaurant was closed for construction and the other restaurant was only open for one meal the 2 days we were there and it was a buffet for dinner that was over $20.00 especially since there are very limited places to dine on the island.

Enjoyed the kayaking very much and the awesome firepit down by the water!

Room Tip: spacious rooms, very clean
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Hi Kyle,

Glad you enjoyed the waterfront area during your visit!

We hope you will consider a return trip and enjoy our newly renovated restaurant that will be opening next month. We will post our Grand Opening date on our website and excited to share all of the fun to be had while enjoying a great meal at Pins Bar & Grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

First time at this resort. Heard both good and bad. From check in to check out our stay was enjoyable. The front desk people were very pleasant and helpful. Many things to do but we just golfed. Room was clean and well decorated. Only bad thing was the pool had too much chlorine and burned my eyes. Will definitely go back!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank attitude63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Manager at Drummond Island Resort and Conference Ct, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, glad you enjoyed your round at The Rock. Hope you consider a return trip, we are open all year round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews