We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of The Atheneum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atheneum
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have mixed feelings on this hotel. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, the linen felt great as well. Room was clean seemed well prepped. The walls are a little thin as neighboring noise seemed to carry easily. Our suite seemed to be missing a tv (see pics) in the seating area and pictures missing from the wall. When i inquired at the desk i was simply told some rooms have them, some dont. Huh? Didnt mine cost the same? Friends that were staying also said they were kept up past 3am with what sounded like a party in the room next to theirs. The hotel staff was always warm and friendly but it felt like when issues popped up, it seemed to be hands in air, what can we do? The location does put you right in the heart of the city, easy walking to almost anywhere. Comparing the price to some of the other hotels I suppose this is still a good choice depending on preferences. I don't know that I will return unless the price is significantly better than the others and I will lesson my expectations.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CaliLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Atheneum recently, I have not stayed at this hotel in a few years. What a wonderful surprise, Beautiful remodel rooms, clean, easy to access. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, the Valet parking people were courteous. My special review goes to my Bellman, Curtis. What a great guy, happy, friendly, a fountain of information. The Atheneum has a real gem with him. I would go back to stay just to see Curtis and chat with him. The location, right in the heart of Greektown, and walking distance to all the stadiums and Fox town make this the ideal place to stay in Detroit. Staying here will save you $20.00 to $30.00 in taxi or Uber fares.

Room Tip: All rooms are suiters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnbukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We used the Atheneum as home base for a boys trip to Motown. The rooms were good size and comfortable so that worked well. Location was within easy walking distance to restaurants and bars, the casino, and Ford Field so that all worked out well. The staff was friendly and helpful. My one caveat is that our rooms were a bit tired and needed a refresh but it looked like they were doing that on other floors so maybe not an issue for long.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DFarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well the rooms were big and comfy. Some parts out dated like the flooring and not having a fan in the bathroom which is super weird. Air conditioning worked in the room which was great cause it got very hot for some reason at night. This is october. Super weird. Anyways would i pay the price again?? For the convenience yes but only for that reason.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Down2earth4beauty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel. Easy to find, & valet parking upon arrival. Very friendly staff, from arrival to checkout. The rooms are spacious, with separated sleeping and living areas. Big bathrooms, and a lot of space. Clean rooms, and quick room service as well. We were close to our events for the weekend, and had a free hotel shuttle to and from our local concert.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank tcharleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#10 of 33 in Detroit
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
0.7 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
2.1 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#11 of 33 in Detroit
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Address: 1000 Brush St, Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#7 Family Hotel in Detroit
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#11 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: €128 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing