We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy”
Review of The Atheneum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atheneum
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Reviewed 22 July 2017

First impression of hotel was good, we arrived late in the evening and the staff were very nice.
We were given a room on the 3rd floor right next to the elevator cluster (there are 5) which was facing a rather boring looking parking lot and the people mover which meant lots of noise.
The room itself was nice, large bathroom, sitting area and lower level bed area. The fan didn't work in the bathroom which meant the marble floor became quite slippery. Wood trim could do with some maintenance and the drapes didn't overlap and had a very slim valance so I had problems sleeping with the light entering. The a/c unit was quite noisy and right next to the bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

This was my first Tigers game in Detroit with the family so we decided to stay somewhere close to the stadium and close to GreekTown. My research showed that they do valet only, so bring some cash to tip. While this is a nice feature, they were quick to get all our stuff out of the car and shoo us inside to get checked in. Next thing I knew, the car was gone. Parked, luckily, but bro... let us get all our stuff first. Other than that, the hotel was nice. Somewhat dated design. I commented that in the 80's, this place must have been a happening spot. The rooms had an odd layout and the glass block walls that separated the bedroom from the bathroom was odd, but it worked. The beds were comfy, the temperature was great. No real complaints. Other than not enough electrical outlets and the ones that were there could barely keep a charger plugged in. They would just fall out of the socket. (odd complaint right?) Overall, very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The room was excellent. Large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location. Additionally, I saw several examples of excellent customer service. However, I have two fairly strong complaints about the hotel. First, the exercise room is poor. It is just a bunch of equipment thrown into a rundown unused hotel room. Second, the 'included breakfast' consisted of cheap packaged pastries, cereal boxes, and coffee. Far short of what you would expect for this quality of a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DBW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Location location location right in the middle of Greektown. Connected to the casino and Fishbones. 5 to 10 minute walk to Ford Field or Comerica park. Very spacious rooms suites including the bathroom. Friendly staff and did not have to wait long for valet. Again cannot beat the location.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank exit18b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

My wife and I stayed at your Hotel for a Friday and Saturday night. We were in town for a wedding and they had the reception in your beautiful room on the 8th floor. The entire stay was fantastic and your entire staff was extremely pleasant and more then helpful.

We would HIGHLY recommend your Hotel for anyone looking to stay in Greektown. Thank you again for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dreamacres5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.3 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
0.7 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.8 km away
Detroit Foundation Hotel
2.1 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atheneum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atheneum

Address: 1000 Brush St, Greektown, Detroit, MI 48226-2906
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#11 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range: €146 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atheneum 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Atheneum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Hotel Detroit
Atheneum Detroit
Atheneum Suite Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing