We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown vacation”
Review of Honor and Folly

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Detroit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honor and Folly
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was treated to a vacation in my hometown by my wife this weekend, staying here at Honor and Folly Friday and Saturday nights. Booking was easy, and the owner easily reachable. The space is amazing, both for what is within but where it is. Inside is exposed brickwork, 2 beds and baths, a loft space, and 2 outdoor porches. If you want to cook, there are pans and such at your disposal, a great island for prep, and a an expansive view to the (hopefully restored one day) Michigan Central Station and Roosevelt Park. Downstairs is one of Detroit's best places to eat, Slow's BBQ. The block that Honor and Folly is on has Astro Coffee, Sugar House for cocktails, the Mercury Bar for burgers, and is just a block or two from many foodie or drink destinations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HersForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a great stay at Honor & Folly while visiting Detroit for the Maker Faire, the week after Detroit declared bankruptcy. The place is well decorated, spacious and in a fun location (albeit a bit sketchy) that is a short drive from many of the great things Detroit has to offer.

Things we loved: great location (above Slows BBQ, close to Dequindre Cut bike path and the Eastern Market); great decor; spacious; super close to the border and highway; close to Supino's pizza; owner was very responsive via text to address our questions; across the street from the abandoned Roosevelt train station (cool and a bit creepy)

Cautionary notes: bring your own soap for the shower (there was none when we went); don't depend on WiFi (you have to tap into the free WiFi from Slows BBQ downstairs and it didn't work for us - this was an unexpected challenge, as our kids wanted to watch Netflix and were unable to); scissors as a wall decoration in the spare bedroom (nice to look at, bad for kids - no running please); parking can be a bit tricky (you want to park out front, but there are a lot of folks coming to eat at Slows, so parking can be a bit of a challenge).

Recommendations: rent bikes at the waterfront and bike around Detroit, particularly Eastern Market and the Dequindre Cut greenway; visit the nearby Heidelberg Project.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rwr_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

What a score. Perfectly situated on Michigan Avenue near the old statuesque train station, Honor & Folly is a great central hub for those looking to explore the Motor City. You could literally hole up in this incredibly cute space for a couple days of romance or relaxation, leaving only for coffee downstairs at Astro, or BBQ next door at Slows. But for those who want to get out, easy parking and access to Michigan Ave—as well as nearby highways—offer short drives to downtown, and just about everywhere else.

The space is awesome, with a huge kitchen and open floor plan. Bedrooms and bathrooms are all clean and comfy. Only catch is you might find yourself sharing the space with a couple strangers. For us, this was a huge bonus, as we made new friends who inspired some changes in our plans and made us frothy lattes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Back bedroom is the best, with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stumbled on this incredible loft when visiting Detroit for the first time; best described as rustic industrial, this place had everything you may need for a comfortable stay in a hip end of Detroit. Two gorgeous bedrooms and a neat 2nd floor nook that accommodates another double bed. This place can actually sleep six people comfortably. Full modern kitchen and many tasteful details abound; also has two full bathrooms.The area features an ultra cool urban mini golf course designed with recycled metal finds and old bikes; cool cafes and bars abound on this great little strip. Neat views of the haunting old historic train station,currently under development. A must stay place for urban folks that get this chic style of loft - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Apartment style loft with 2 full bedrooms. Back bedroom a little nicer because of ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was the perfect place to stay in Detroit. Everything you need is right here --- we visited the coffee bar downstairs every morning and ended each evening with cocktails at the Sugar House. The apartment was stylish. The second bedroom is small, but pleasantly quirky. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CMS291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
3.4 km away
The Inn on Ferry Street
The Inn on Ferry Street
#2 of 33 in Detroit
575 reviews
2.1 km away
The El Moore Lodge
The El Moore Lodge
#1 of 11 in Detroit
64 reviews
2.9 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#11 of 33 in Detroit
1,130 reviews
1 km away
MotorCity Casino Hotel
MotorCity Casino Hotel
#10 of 33 in Detroit
713 reviews
2.1 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honor and Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honor and Folly

Address: 2134 Michigan Ave, Detroit, MI 48216-1305
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Detroit
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing