We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
606
231
58
33
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
606
231
58
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside bar cocktail bar the pub travelzoo deal hotel restaurant main restaurant the barnes wallis suite relaxed atmosphere high standard walkers bar one night stay reception area lake district spa bath borrowdale valley open fire course dinner
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This was a last minute stay and couldn’t have asked for any more. Peaceful location some six miles from Keswick. Comfortable and clean double room with lovely bathroom and comfortable bed. Nice river view as well. Excellent dining with quality dinner and breakfast. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Harleyman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

What a delighful place to rest up and take in the exquisite scenery and neighbourhood. . We will return and enjoy more of the beautiful countryside. The hotel was delightful and the staff very helpful and accomadating..

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank HopeCaladonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t have asked for better place to stay in the heart of Borrowdale, with our dog. Reception staff great cheerful and welcoming. Room very clean and comfortable. Riverside bar served lovely meals at night and welcomed dogs. Looking for to staying again soon

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nomad164550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

This was the smartest place we stayed at on the Coast to coast walk. Range Rovers in the car park suggested it would be a stuffy place. Not a bit of it! Despite our long hike with boots and packs they are Really friendly helpful with staff from all over the north and they were pleased to cook our find of the day, perfect ceps found on the shore of Ellerdale Water. These were converted into a fantastic breakfast by the sous chef (from Poland apparently). See photos of find and breakfast result
The dinner is ‘fine dining’ but the relaxed informal atmosphere made it lots of fun
A memorable stay!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank aureliaowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Dinner very good and they went out of their way to cook the breakfast we requested.
Room comfortable and warm. Dog friendly.
Most expensive place we stayed on the Coast to Coast walk.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oboevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews