We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
602
231
58
33
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
602
231
58
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riverside bar cocktail bar the pub travelzoo deal hotel restaurant main restaurant the barnes wallis suite relaxed atmosphere high standard walkers bar one night stay reception area lake district spa bath borrowdale valley dining room open fire
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The location is perfect for fell walking in Borrowdale - straight out of the hotel onto the paths, with a bus every 30 minutes for when it all gets too much, and only a short bus journey from derwent water.

The hotel is great. We chose this as our base after popping into the bar last visit to the lakes and we were not disappointed. The staff were excellent, the breakfast filling and tasty, an option to purchase a packed lunch, and brilliant evening menu in the restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GemmyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

In Rosthwaite for annual Norfolk Mountain Rescue walking weekender - used pub both nights - good selection of beer and food - quick service and staff good value. We had a cloudy beer which they agreed to change and we then produced 7 half full pints which they swapped for another beer without any issue. Recommend if in the area to swap those stories of 'daring do' on Great Gable

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Simonjf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Stayed for two nights to walk Scafell Pike. We chose this hotel mainly due to its location which was only a couple of miles from the start of our planned organised walk up Scafell Pike. It was definitely a good decision, the hotel is lovely and surrounded by the stunning scenery of the Borrowdale valley. My single room was spacious, clean, comfortable, great ensuite with a bath, unusual these days but very welcome after a long trek! Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice of cereal, fresh fruits yoghurts, continental etc and cooked breakfast made to order, full English, smoked salmon, kippers, smoked haddock, etc. Lots of choice. My eggs benedict on the first morning were excellent as was the full English on the second day. All well cooked and piping hot with lashings of hot tea and toast. We ate in the Riverside bar on both evenings and found the food to be of a high standard and very reasonably priced. It has a great atmosphere and is mainly full of walkers. All the staff in the hotel were very pleasant, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. A great stay in a lovely location and it was great to be so near to the end of our walk. Top class, highly recommended.

Room Tip: My room was near the entrance, and everyone had to pass by, the noise was not intrusive.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

We stayed in August at the Scafell hotel and absolutely loved every minute of our stay. The staff are so friendly and knowledgeable, and the hotel was very clean, cosy and in a perfect spot to explore the mountains. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate (with afternoon tea on the second day). The room was lovely, with a new bathroom and fresh décor. We loved walking from the hotel for the day (with our packed lunch provided by the hotel) and then coming back and relaxing in the lovely lounge area before dinner. The food was very impressive. Canapes served at the bar whilst you decided what to choose, and then a lovely 3 course meal. One of the best meals I've experienced in a hotel. It was lovely being served coffee and biscuits in the lounge after, too. A real treat. Breakfast was really yummy as well, with lots of choice. We can't wait to stay again and can see ourselves staying at the hotel many more times in the years to come. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so perfect, we can't wait to stay again. Jodi and Tom

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tojo162017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Visited in July was greeted warmly by a lovely gentleman on reception who booked us in and told us what’s what , we stayed in the Barnes Wallis suite which was lovely with very pretty views hotel was spotless although a strange smell on main staircase , we stayed half board food was lovely only criticism I was asked to change out of my clothes ( shorts and a blouse) into a dress for dinner which is fine but other diners where allowed into dining room with trainers and training pants on the following night we ate in the bar area staff and food in here outstanding so friendly and helpful all in all would recommend and return

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank luvlylynzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews