We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
362
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade biscuits red squirrels lake district decanter of sherry beautiful house perfect hosts attention to detail owners gary set menu country house front lawn borrowdale valley little touches locally sourced food great skill food and wine excellent wine list
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016

This small hotel is in an old and beautiful building, with owners who get everything right. Excellent location on beautiful grounds, excellent food, very well run, everything works, friendly clientele. Very good value for what you get, which is a lot. Many return guests, of which we will now be one. There are a lot of great walks from the front door, and good bus service to Keswick if you don't want to drive or walk the 6 or 7 miles. Definitely recommend eating dinner there as much as you can.

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank dhoopstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for your lovely review, We do take pride in our beautiful country house and its situation inthe heart of Borrowdale ,We also take pride in being the only local born owners and operators of our business which comes in handy when helping guests enjoy their break away ,a little local knowledge goes a long way ))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

After nearly three years, returned here with some trepidation, but needn't have worried. Not only was the welcome as warm from Gary and Donna and my stay as comfortable, but several things were even better, notably the food and rooms.
Don't get me wrong, Donna's cooking was always of the highest class, but now they've poached award-winning chef David Jackson and his use of the local produce, particularly the Hardwick lamb, is sensational. Complemented by Gary's wine recommendations - he even sourced a superb bottle of red from the slopes of Mount Ventoux to make a cyclist like me feel at home! - and a meal here is a sensory sensation. It starts across the hallway in the drawing room where guests are served delicious canapés and aperitifs before being shown to their tables. After dinner, we returned to the comfy chairs to enjoy the fading light across the Borrowdale valley - the views across the hotel's grounds are stunning - with a vanilla-tinged rum - the label will raise a wry smile amongst certain types! - coffee and chocolates.
The second improvement is the rooms, which were already luxurious. The showers now have touch-button controls which, amongst other things, means they warm up to your desired temperature while you get on with something else. Like getting undressed, for example.
I was there for two nights. It's a truly magical place. If only they had a cat, it would be perfect!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackHavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Lovely to see you back at Hazelbank ,and that you have appreciated our improvements along with former Leathes Head Chef and Local lad David Jackson who has definitely added to the standard of the dinner offerings .A great base for walkers and Cyclists as you have proven ...great to read your piece in cycling weekly :)

Gary and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Superb and high spec, nothing at all to fault!
Surrounded by wonderful countryside and views, walks on the door-step.......peace.
(We include the sounds of cuckoo's and bleating lambs as peaceful!).
We learnt regular guests keep returning year after year and can understand why and met with various long standing returnees during our stay!
Gary and Donna made us feel very, very welcome - nothing was too much trouble a all. The food across the board - breakfast, packed lunch (optional), evening meal (optional), was exemplary. We paid for breakfast and evening meal on booking and had no qualms about changing this after our first night's stay!
This is a very intimate country house hotel and we loved our stay!
Book early to avoid disappointment!
We booked to stay again for our wedding anniversary in 2017.
A perfect place!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your glowing review ,we always aim to please and our situation makes it easier for us to satisfy our guests and give them a real taste of Borrowdale.

Gary and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We had 3 days of excellent walking in unbroken sunshine and a splendid stay at this superb hotel. Very comfortable rooms - outstanding food and warm, friendly and efficient service. This was our second visit to Hazel Bank and we were delighted to see that that the owner's exacting standards had been fully maintained. We look forward with keen anticipation to our next visit

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaelannette2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Contrary to popular belief ,we do have an awful lot of sunny days in Borrowdale and being situated centrally in the valley ,we are able to offer our guests all Borrowdales favourite walks from the door without the need of a car or even a step on the road .

Gary and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Thank you for another wonderful stay at Hazelbank. We had sun and snow and food and wine and the most fantastic hospitality. Gary's Brazilian red wine recommendation was superb, just to make sure we liked it we all had to enjoy a second bottle. Best wishes for the big event in the summer !!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMM858688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

We recently were awarded the Conde Nast /Taittenger wine list of the year and one of the things that impressed to judges was the diversity of wines,We use several suppliers and enjoy introducing new wines to the list .Glad you enjoyed the Cabernet Franc !!

Regards

Gary and Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews