We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cabin nice beezy view nice owners nice...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Caledonia, Kent County, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Retiremen...
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice cabin nice beezy view nice owners nice neighbors”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A good time til storm hit and power went out for 3 days, but owners were very helpful in us "weathering the storm" ! Beautiful views, lake is very welcoming along with patio up and down by the water ! Very cozy and all the comforts of home inside! A very nice quiet cabin and lake!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corahoek
nashville TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Renter Beware. Very old property, maintanence issues, some safety issues, probable mold issues in airspace”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

THE ONE PREVIOUS EXISTING REVIEW IS NOT THIS PROPERTY! There is NO POOL, NO hot tub, NO beach on the doorstep. IT is not a condo. That review should be removed immediately.
This was an overpriced, under-delivered property. Unfortunately ,the owners description is not realistic. Cottage is very old with safety issues and some things poorly maintained. I am convinced there is a serious mold problem in this property airspace---our adult son has a mold allergy and reacted almost immediately upon entry and was unable to stay there as planned. Windows opened day before arrival by owners--- Dryer sheets, sachets, room fresheners throughout---apparently to mask the smell. Daily evidence of mice in kitchen and eating area. Chipmunks, spiders and spider webs inside, some dirty windows. Toilets very difficult to flush due to low water pressure. No AC---bedrooms are upstairs and very uncomfortable during hot weather--hard to sleep. We left early---as soon as the family wedding was over, due to poor conditions in this property. Owners were sent email about these issues and there has been no reply at all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
We are very sorry you found faults in the stone cottage. Many renters in the past and I trust in the future will enjoy the history and charm of the 100 year old cottage.

On the contrary phone calls and emails where exchanged with you regarding your stay. You made several carping complaints about the property which I immediately came out to review; exposed wiring in our cottage and it not being up to "electrical code"; was actually light fixtures hung on the porch with the cords properly stapled to the ceiling and down to the outlet- just like any lamp that you would have in a house. When you stated only one light worked on the porch, we found every single light worked on the porch except for one. (Which has now been replaced). We will be return the unused portion of your stay as we stated in the email.

Cora, I am unsure where you are reading our property description, however, no where is it written that we provide a pool, hot tub, steps to a beach (steps to a dock, yes) or A/C. Perhaps you were viewing another rental? Maybe you arrived at the cottage with these expectations..

We are aware the cottage is not perfect- we love that the original stone that was used to build the outside of the cottage is also used on the inside for the fireplace. Unfortunately, it is just that... a summer cottage, that is over 100 years old. It is closed for the winter and opened in the summer for the lake enjoyment.

If any potential renters have any concerns about this review, I am happy to discuss the situation, the other concerns that Cora had, and even share the emails.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosamanif...
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Stone Cottage was wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent 3 wonderful days at the Stone Cottage. The kitchen had everything one might need, the cottage was very comfortable, beautiful views, hiking trails and the lake was spectacular. The only thing I would recommend is bringing more lawn chairs. I would recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for the review! I like your suggestion on lawn chairs for afternoon naps and will make sure we pick some us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$250
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing